The Other Girl.

31450532.jpg

Goodreads

Officer Miranda Rader of the Harmony, Louisiana PD is known for her honesty, integrity, and steady hand in a crisis—but that wasn’t always so. Miranda comes from the town of Jasper, a place about the size of a good spit on a hot day, and her side of the tracks was the wrong one. She’s worked hard to earn the respect of her coworkers and the community.

When Miranda and her partner are called to investigate the murder of one of the town’s most beloved college professors, they’re unprepared for the brutality of the scene. This murder is unlike any they’ve ever investigated, and just when Miranda thinks she’s seen the worst of it, she finds a piece of evidence that chills her to the core: a faded newspaper clipping about that terrible night fifteen years ago. The night she’d buried, along with her past and the girl she’d been back then. Until now that grave had stayed sealed…except for those times, in the deepest part of the night, when the nightmares came: of a crime no one believed happened and the screams of the girl they believed didn’t exist.

Then another man turns up dead, this one a retired cop. Not just any cop—the one who took her statement that night. Two murders, two very different men, two killings that on the surface had nothing in common—except Miranda.

**Thank you to Netgalley and the Publisher for providing me a copy of The Other Girl in exchange for an honest review.**

4/5 Stars!



Ok, my first question is why have I not read an Erica Spindler novel before!? Seriously, The Other Girl was SO good and I need more of this writing!

Miranda Rader is a detective for the Harmony, Louisiana police department. Murder scenes are usually no big deal when you’ve seen it all before, except for the murder of the towns most successful and loved college professor. Gruesome and no doubt a revenge crime, Miranda and her partner have quite a case on their hands. Shortly after, clippings from a nightmare of Miranda’s past show up, and then fingerprints and another murder. They all only have one thing in common, Miranda.

I couldn’t put this book down, I was reading through these pages like rapid fire! The Other Girl flows so well and it’s just begging to be read.

Miranda was such a fascinating character to me, she grew up in a trailer park in Jasper, Louisiana. She had two older brother’s and an attitude to go right a long with it.

Smoking, drinking, lying…

This book is really about following Miranda’s journey, past and present and I loved learning about her wild teenage years and what happened fifteen years ago that got her to where she is now. The author wrote a very strong female character and I really appreciated it.

There’s so much suspense and longing for answers while reading this. For me, a mystery is all about just wanting to figure out what happens next and what that big twist will do to you. Even though I predicted the ending a little bit, it still didn’t lose it’s suspense feeling which is what I was looking for.

Plus, there’s some romance sprinkled in-between these pages and it was hot! I was so surprised by it but it totally got two thumbs up by me for throwing that curveball in there.

I thought The Other Girl had a pretty solid pace, the only thing I thought was a bit of a bummer was the ending. I just wanted so much more out of it, I wanted to know what the aftermath for everyone involved was, but more on how they felt about it if that makes sense. It was a bit rushed and I just didn’t feel closure I guess is what I’m trying to get at.

Overall though, I really enjoyed this book and it’s a great story. Now the only thing I need to do is read more from this author, she defiantly writes my kind of mysteries! The Other Girl should be on your radar for August!

Pre-Order Now!

6 thoughts on “The Other Girl.

Leave a Reply

