Curveball.

“I want to know your secrets,” she whispers.

I place my hand over hers, keeping it firmly against my chest. “I want to know yours.”

34888349

Goodreads

Shakespeare believed there was always humor in tragedy and tragedy in humor.
My life proved his theory as fact.

At eighteen I was a single parent moving to this small town to be with the man I loved. The one who was supposed to love and cherish me in return.
Finding out he had a wife was tragic.

Remaining in love with him in spite of her was more tragic.

My mom and best friend setting me up on a long string of blind dates was an ongoing tragedy.
Nine years later, I’ve learned to see the humor in most situations.
My mom and best friend setting me up on disastrous blind dates.

My son’s jokes.

The fire alarm going off each time I cook.
My constant bright spot always adding to the humor was my son, Hayden. But when Hayden had a life-threatening allergic reaction, the man who came to help my little boy became my own savior. His laugh, his smile, and the way his eyes lit up when he spoke to my son made him a beacon of light in both our lives.
But I wasn’t the only one who noticed him.

When I began having feelings for the man my best and only friend had fallen for, I knew following my heart would once again lead to a fresh round of heartbreak.
Love led me to this town.

Lies kept me there.
Would history repeat itself?

Or had life just thrown me another Curveball?

4/5 Stars!



One word: Coen! Holy crap did he freaking steal my heart you guys!

Ella is a single mother who strives for perfection. She wants to be the perfect mother to her nine-year-old son Hayden. She wants to excel in every way possible at her job in marketing.

“When you give your heart away, there’s no way to fully get it back. Pieces will be left behind, lies will drill holes, deceit will cause cracks, and the feeling of being unwanted will create a doubt your heart was ever whole.”

What she defiantly doesn’t want is to become a serial dater while trying to replace the one man who she just can’t let go of. That is until her son Hayden has a serious allergic reaction to peanuts and the one man who came to the rescue was not who she was expecting. More than that though, she defiantly didn’t expect to have feelings for him.

 Oh Curveball, I did not expect you! When I first started reading this book, I have to admit I just couldn’t get into it and I really have no clue why. But then I met Coen, the hunky as hell firefighter and I decided to stick with it and I’m so happy I did!

I liked Ella, I really did but sometimes she just made me want to rip my hair out. She tried TOO DAMN HARD at everything! All I wanted to say to her is “Girl, you need a night out with me to loosen up!” Seriously, she needed a chill pill. But she was an amazing mother and she had a huge heart so how could I not like her? In the end, I loved the decisions she made and that she finally did what she wanted to do for once.

“Will you keep looking at me like I’m yours if I tell you there’s nothing to worry about?”

“You just haven’t been paying attention. I’ve been looking at you like you’re mine since I first saw you.”

Coen though, he is my love! I could not have asked for a better male character than this man. Everything he did was swoon worthy from the way he helped Hayden with playing baseball, to his panty dropping eyes and smile. This man had it all and what I would have done to be Ella a few times ;). Plus he was Italian and had that huge loud, nosey family thing going for him. Seriously, this guy was it.

More than that though, the love story was beautiful! Coen helped Ella so much with finding out what she really wanted out of life. He brought her happiness and smiles and comfort. I was so happy when he would make her fight for things and make her ask for what she wanted, he really was exactly what she needed.

Curveball defiantly lived up to it’s name, it had some pretty big curveball’s thrown my way. Especially towards the end, I think my mouth dropped open more than a few times and I have to say I enjoyed the twists. It flowed easily and It had some quotes that really jumped out at me. I longed for more at the end though, I needed a longer ending or a more in depth one I should say.

“I love him because he saved me. Because he makes me acknowledge my feelings rather than feel ashamed of them, and he makes me feel calm and safe. Two things I haven’t felt since I was seventeen.”

This book is perfect for romance lover’s like myself though. It has a lot of feels, major angst and you will be totally captivated by Coen, so all you ladies who love those male characters as much as I do, you must meet this man!

Purchase Now!

2 thoughts on “Curveball.

  1. This is a new author to me. Thanks again for introducing me to another brilliant romance writer, this sounds great. Btw, I’m going to make you jealous soon because I’m going to post a romance unboxing with two great books that you’re definitely going to like, soon. Knowing you, you’ll have heard of the books and the authors though 😉

Leave a Reply

