Lost Rider

“She was my compass when I was lost without direction.”

30753643

Goodreads

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

4/5 Stars

**Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for sending me a copy of Lost Rider in exchange for an honest review.**



I have a huge thing for second chance romances. There’s just something about them that gets my heart fluttering a million times more. The fact that people are full of forgiveness and faith is always such a heartwarming thing to read about. Lost Rider gave me all those feelings and so much more!

Maverick Davis is on his way home, going back to the one place that makes his skin crawl. After too many head injuries, his bull riding career has come to an end and all he feels is lost. What’s he supposed to do now? Work on his families ranch that he has never wanted anything to do with? The only positive thing about heading home is the thought of seeing Leighton James, the girl he doesn’t deserve. Leigh isn’t the same girl he remembers though, and she isn’t about to forgive him for breaking her heart all those years ago.

“I craved her. Hell, I craved her before I even knew what those feelings meant.”

While reading Lost Rider, I just kept picturing Scott Eastwood in my head. I mean how hot was he in The Longest Ride? I don’t know about Bull Riders in real life, but they are hot as sin in romance novels!

Leighton James is my girl! I love a girl who doesn’t fall to her knees over a man who broke her heart. I like when they make them fight for it and that’s exactly what Leigh does. She’s as sweet as the pies that she bakes but she has this fiery attitude that makes you smile. Leighton is a true country girl and you will love her and the ramblings between her best friend and co-worker. It’s true small town drama and I couldn’t get enough.

Maverick really is a lost rider. He holds so much pain in his heart that it breaks you apart just reading about it. The only thing I wanted for Maverick was healing, I wanted him to be happy. He’s a tall dark and handsome cowboy that needs some loving and even though I was a little jealous, I was also so happy that Leigh was the one to give him that.

“I was so fuckin alone. On the top of my game, ridin’ the beasts that made me feel like a fuckin’ god, but even in a sold-out arena, I felt like I was in a room all by myself.”

Sexual tension, emotions rolling high, laugh out loud moments. Lost Rider truly has it all and I applaud Harper Sloan for writing a great story! Full of wonderful characters and a warm feeling of small town living, my heart was totally into this one.

A part that truly put a smile on my face though had nothing to do with the writing itself. Every chapter has a song dedicated to it and I loved it! I love country music, I think it brings all the feels so when I would see songs that I loved in every chapter, I couldn’t help but love that little touch the author put in there.

“I’ve had one night with you and I have a feeling’ that even forever will never be enough.”

If you are looking for a true feel good romance full of friendship, loss, love and raw emotions then don’t hesitate to give Lost Rider a chance! It’s the first book in a new series for Harper Sloan and it is full of promise for more to come!

Pre-Order Now!

2 thoughts on “Lost Rider

Leave a Reply

