The Breakdown

“If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?”

31450633

 Goodreads

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

4/5 Stars!

**Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy of The Breakdown in exchange for an honest review.**



I’m sure everyone has read or has heard of Behind Closed Doors, and if you were anything like me then you absolutely loved it! So it’s no surprise that I have been anxiously awaiting to read Paris’s new book, The Breakdown.

After Cass keeps driving when she see’s a woman’s car idled on the side of a creepy, wooded road and finds out the next day that the same women was brutally murdered, she can’t get rid of the guilt she feels for not stopping to help. Now she keeps getting strange calls, and she keeps forgetting the simplest things. Is it her guilt that is taking over, is it her mother’s early dementia starting to happen to her too, or is it more? Is someone really watching her, or is she just having a breakdown…

“Fear and guilt have become such constant companions that I can’t remember what it was like to live without them.”

I don’t want to touch much on the plot, but I did like the characters. I felt an attachment to Cass, especially towards the end. I couldn’t believe how much her life was spiraling out of control in such a short amount of time, it was nuts! I don’t blame her with her constant fear though, it’s like everyones worst nightmare to come across an idled car in a crazy storm on a wooded road and then to find out that the woman was murdered and to start getting creepy silent killer calls. Hell yes, I would be crazy too!

As much as I liked this book, I didn’t find myself getting into it very quickly and it took me a little longer to finish the first part.

And then came the last 40% of the book, I was totally hooked from then on and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. It really started picking up it’s pace and the pieces of the puzzle started coming together bit by bit and I loved it! I had an idea of what I thought the outcome was going to be, and who really did it but then Paris totally went a whole other direction and I was super satisfied! It also helps that I’m extremely horrible at guessing what is about to happen! I never get it right.

As much as the last 20% will have you at the edge of your seat, I was still hoping for a bigger twist in the plot. I wanted a mouth open, “WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED” sort of reaction and as satisfying as this whole book was, that feeling never came.

Overall it was a great read. The Breakdown was gripping, eerie and took your mind on a rollercoaster ride! It did such a good job at throwing you off course and I think that’s what makes psychological books oh so good! I look forward to reading even more from B.A. Paris. Her writing is phenomenal!

Pre-Oder Now!

8 thoughts on “The Breakdown

  1. I liked the ending most of all too and like you I was expecting or hoping for a big twist, that didn’t really come. I liked it but after all the raving about Behind Closed Doors I was perhaps expecting a bit more. Still want to read BCD though. Great review!

    1. I know, since I read Behind Closed Doors I think I compared it a lot. Which I tried hard not to do but I couldn’t help it. I think you should read BCD! It was one of my favorites last year, I think you would really enjoy it! Thanks Inge 🙂

  2. I read Behind Closed Doors last month for book club and thought it was a solid read. I would have liked a little more from it, but still enjoyed it. From the reviews I’ve read for The Breakdown, I’ve heard it doesn’t quite live up to BCD. It seems you agree?

    1. Yes I compared it a lot, I couldn’t help it! I liked the ending to The Breakdown and the outcome but it really didn’t come with too much suspense or twists and turns that I would have liked. Still worth a read though, it’s good!

Leave a Reply

