I Let You Go

“I let him go, and I will never forgive myself for that.”

30689367

Goodreads

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever.

Slowly, Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating.

4/5 Stars!



I Let You Go starts with a terrible tragedy. Five year old Jacob is struck by a car on a rainy night and left there while his mother holds him in her arms one last time. A hit and run case that shocks the community.

Jenna Gray’s life will never be the same, and now she needs to start over. Packing up as little memories as she has, she finds herself leaving until she finds this run down cottage by the sea that is as isolated as she feels inside.

“The grief I feel is so physical it seems impossible that I am still living; that my heart continues to beat when it has been wrenched apart. I want to fix an image of him in my head, but all I can see when I close my eyes is his body, still and lifeless in my arms. I let him go, and I will never forgive myself for that.”

I thought Part One of this book started out a little slow, although enjoyable since you are learning about Jenna as a character but also following DI Ray Stevens on the hit and run case. I thought I had the connection totally figured out and I just kept wondering about what kind of twists and turns and suspense would be able to come out of this kind of case..

But then the last page of the first part of the novel comes and my mouth drops!

Now wheels are spinning in my mind and I have no clue what is going on because a new narrator is being introduced along with Jenna and Ray that I haven’t heard of before. And then it all clicks and I am silently applauding the author for this well put together plot.

I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough in the second half of this novel. The suspense and the intensity starts to unfold like crazy. I was completely shocked when more and more pieces started to fit together about what actually happened on that tragic rainy night.

“My steps feel lighter now and I realize it’s because I’m running toward something, and not away from it.”

I thought I Let You Go was such a well developed psychological thriller and I don’t know why it took me so long to get to it! It’s one book that is hard to review for fear of spoiling anything. I also loved the Authors note at the end of the novel, there’s no better writing when it is deeply personal to your own life.

After finishing I Let You Go, I am now excited to get my hands on I See You by Clare Mackintosh! I have a feeling I won’t be disappointed :).

Purchase Now!

2 thoughts on “I Let You Go

Leave a Reply

