Defy (Sinners of Saint, #0.5)

“It was wrong, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like how wrong it felt. Whether I was corrupting or being corrupted…I loved how it made me feel.”

32027054

Goodreads

My name is Melody Greene, and I have a confession to make.
I slept with my student, a senior in high school.
Multiple times.
I had multiple orgasms.
In multiple positions.
I slept with my student and I enjoyed it.
I slept with my student and I’d do it all over again if I could turn back time.
My name is Melody Greene, and I got kicked out of my position as a teacher and did my walk of shame a la Cersei Lannister from the principal’s office, minutes after said principal threatened to call the cops on me.
My name is Melody Greene, and I did something bad because it made me feel good.
Here is why it was totally worth it.

4.5/5 Stars!



First of all if you haven’t read Vicious, then what are you waiting for!? Defy is a prequel to Vicious (review here), the first book in the new series Sinner’s of Saint by L.J. Shen. Vicious was hot, and one of my favorite books of the new year so defiantly pick it up!

Defy is the novella that tells the story of Melody Greene and Jaime Followhill. Melody is a twenty-six year old Lit teacher at All Saints High. Her dreams of being a Ballerina were taken from her when she had an accident that would end her career. She doesn’t want to teach Lit, and she sure as hell doesn’t want to teach a high school full of rich kids who rule the town with their wealth and attitudes.

“I wanted him to kiss me. Kiss me hard and soft all at once, a kiss that’d assure me that I wasn’t crazy for discovering what I’d just discovered on this tattered sofa in this tiny apartment. That I was in love with my student.”

Among the rich kid population is Jaime Followhill, the principles son who also makes Melody clench with want. Melody can’t figure out why this eighteen year old has so much of her attention, so it’s no surprise that when he blackmails her she dosen’t refuse. Melody can’t deny her attraction to the Hot Hole who perfects the man bun. So what could go wrong with having a little fling until the end of the school year?

“Your pain is mine, and I want to shoulder it, because I can. Because that’s what I do. I carry my pain all the time. Let me take away yours.”

Wow, for as short as this book was, it sure packs a punch of angst and feelings! I loved Defy, and L.J. Shen is starting to become one of my favorites! Her steamy romance novels are addicting and I can’t get enough. Defy was filled with a forbidden romance that you just couldn’t put down. I couldn’t blame Ms. Greene though, those Hot Holes carry themselves like they are well developed men!

Defy was entertaining, steamy and the only thing I could say that was wrong with it was the fact that is wasn’t longer! I loved Melody and Jaime’s story and I was always intrigued by it even when reading Vicious. I loved how Melody wasn’t ashamed of anything, she knew what she wanted and I liked how she didn’t run away from anything. She was sarcastic and funny and a little weird but her quirky ways were what made her a likable character.

“Is it true that you will always be mine?”
“It’s a truth. And sometimes, when you piss me off, it’s a dare. But it’s my life, and you’re a part of it. Always and forever.”

Jaime just oozed sex appeal. He’s a total alpha male and the words that come out of his mouth would make anyone blush. He’s extremely intense and a bit obsessive but it added well to the plot and the way things worked out in the story. Although I loved Vicious way more, Jaime gave a sweet side that was to die for. When he really opened up about his true feelings, it was melt your heart worthy. I loved getting to know him better, his character was great.

If you haven’t checked out Vicious or Defy yet then you need to! They should be at the top of your TBR list for romance novels this year. I promise, you won’t be disappointed. The characters are so intense and sweet. You defiently need to meet the four Hot Holes! I know I can’t wait to read more from L.J. Shen!

Purchase Now!

6 thoughts on “Defy (Sinners of Saint, #0.5)

  1. Awesome review!!! WOW way to talk up a book! I’ve never read any of her work, but you just single handedly talked me into this series lol… and its even kindle unlimited, so thank you for that! 🙂 I’m so excited to read these books

    1. No, not really. I mean I’ve been asked to read a lot of taboo books and forbidden romances. As odd as it is, taboo books are actually very popular to a lot of the reading world. I get where you are coming from though!

Leave a Reply

