Bad Mommy

“You could search for years and you still won’t be able to know who that woman is, because she doesn’t know herself.”

31415712

Goodreads

When Fig Coxbury buys a house on West Barrett Street, it’s not because she likes the neighborhood, or even because she likes the house. It’s because everything she desires is next door: The husband, the child, and the life that belongs to someone else.

4.5/5 Stars!



What a great way to start off my 2017 reads! Tarryn Fisher, every time I read one of her books….her writing is just SO fantastic! Bad Mommy was addicting, I couldn’t stop reading.

“I see you getting things you don’t deserve, living it up. It fucking sucks. I feel resentful because I deserve it more than you do. I could be a better you,”

Fig Coxbury fixates on things and people, so it’s no surprise when she becomes obsessed with Jolene Avery and her family and moves in right next door (creepy right!?). She wants everything she has, espeically her husband and her child. When does it all become too much though? When does it become obssesion? Well Tarryn has no problem showing you what real obssesion can look like in Bad Mommy.

At first I thought this book was going to be all about Fig, which would have been fine because she is fascinating. Her character is so psychotic and it’s actually scary to think that there are actual people out there like her! I was surprised and pleased when I found out there were three parts to this story though. The first was of Fig and you get a sense of the lengths she will actually go to, to get what she wants. More than that though, you get a look into her thoughts and you get to compare them to the other POV’s and I think that was the most interesting part.

“It was a rough realization that the life you were living was not beautiful, but underhanded and secretive. And the person you loved the most, was striking you with blows you couldn’t feel yet.”

The second part is Darius Avery’s and that’s when things took a turn for me. I was shocked when his part rolled around because everything I thought to be true was turning out to be very different! Tarryn threw me for a loop with Darius and she brings on the real twists and turns. I liked hearing what Darius thoughts were about Fig and his wife the most.

The third part is Jolene Avery’s POV which was my favorite! I loved Jolene and I connected with her the most. She was a great character and I loved her realness and her protectiveness with her daughter Mercy. I also felt for her the most and enjoyed her thoughts and actions throughout the end of the story. I still couldn’t believe her last chapter though, I was shocked and did not expect it!

“I watched people, and then I wanted what they wanted. Does that make sense?”

Bad Mommy is thrilling and creepy all at once. It takes you on a crazy journey into the life of many different sides of people. You might also become skeptical of every new neighbor you get that is friendly to you. If you are a fan of Tarryn Fisher then there is no doubt that you will love this book. The writing is amazing and I was hooked from the beginning. The last sentance of this book though!? GENIUS, I loved it and I couldn’t help but chuckle a little bit. I defiantly recommend this book to anyone who likes Psychological Thrillers!

Purchase Now!

32 thoughts on “Bad Mommy

    1. I loved it! Tarryn has a dark mind when it comes to her writing and it’s awesome. I think you would like it, Fig is a crazy character but she’s so fascinating! I loved all the POVs it gives you :). Thank you!

  1. Is Fig the husband or the wife? Sorry, I got a little lost. This book looks intersting, though. Loved your review!

  2. So it’s not predictable? I find that that’s usually my problem with thrillers. I’m dying to find a good one that’ll catch me off guard!

    1. It’s a different kind of thriller but I didn’t think it was predictable. It’s kind of hard to explain without giving everything away! lol if you end up reading it, I hope you enjoy 😊

  3. Awesome review!! I’m really glad to see you enjoyed it as much as me!! Tarryn Fisher is the only one who can pull off something like this, and she did it brilliantly!

  4. Do you remember a movie called The Hand That Rocks The Cradle? Wow, that makes me sound ancient. Lol I loved that movie back in the day. This book totally sounds like it has that vibe going on but I bet it’s nothing like what I’m imagining in a fantastic way. Awesome review, lady! You have sold me again! I wasn’t impressed with other books from this author, but if you like it this much, I need to read it. 🙂

    1. Yesss!!! I do, it does have that vibe going for it. It’s more obsession creepy then anything else. I like Tarryns dark side of writing like when she comes up with crazy characters like in this story Fig is nuts! But I’m not too keen on her romance books which this was perfect because there wasn’t any. It was all about how Fig just becomes completely fixated on wanting her neighbors life and family and then there were some twists and turns when it came to the Avery’s actual life! You might like it 😊 thanks girl!

  5. My neighbor is been unusually friendly lately….lol Comingg from a criminal justice background, I learned pretty quick that the monsters you have to fear are the ones living next door. These people seem so normal…. until they strike! Great review Amanda!

    1. Yes! I never studied criminal justice but I’m a investigation show junkie and it’s mostly always the ones closest to you. This book was creepy with the obsession Fig had with her neighbors family! It was good. thanks girl!

Leave a Reply

