A Love Letter to Whiskey.

It’s crazy how fast the buzz comes back after you’ve been sober for so long.

31549837

Goodreads

Whiskey stood there, on my doorstep, just like he had one year before. Except this time, there was no rain, no anger, no wedding invitation — it was just us.

It was just him — the old friend, the easy smile, the twisted solace wrapped in a glittering bottle.

It was just me — the alcoholic, pretending like I didn’t want to taste him, realizing too quickly that months of being clean didn’t make me crave him any less.

But we can’t start here.

No, to tell this story right, we need to go back.

Back to the beginning.

Back to the very first drop.

This is my love letter to Whiskey. I only hope he reads it.

4.5/5 Stars!



Instead of whiskey, I poured a glass of wine and devoured this book. Even without the alcohol, you are surely to get a buzz off this intoxicating story.

A Love Letter to Whiskey is full of angst, stomach in knots types of feelings, and will have you wanting to pull your hair out more than once. As much as it’s all of that, it’s also beautiful and raw and so damn truthful.

“I was spinning, tipsy, teetering on the edge of being wasted on Whiskey. I’d dreamed of kissing Jamie so many times, but nothing could compare to how it really felt — his hands on me, so strong, his mouth skilled and passionate.”

Brecks Kennedy, who likes to be called just B and Jamie Shaw met in high school. Sparks don’t fly like crazy and it’s not love at first sight. Nope, we have this slow start with a friendship to die for. We learn about secrets and devastations and dreams and futures. We learn about B and Jamie, and then we watch the most frustrating, most beautiful relationship span out over a decade that fills your heart with every emotion possible.

I liked B, I really did but she was such a tough character. I mean at times I would really feel for her, she had a lot of crap to deal with in her life. Other times though, she just made me want to chuck my tablet across the room. She was like self destruction at best, the only thing that ever kept her from Jamie was herself. As much as her stubborn ways would tick me off, her character was real, strong and sweet.

“It turned out a whiskey stain was just as permanent as ink, and I wondered if I would ever truly wash myself clean. Or if I even wanted to.”

Jamie Shaw was whiskey. He was smooth, addicting, and made your insides burn with that first sip. Ugh, was whiskey SO swoon worthy. I liked him immediately, he never held back his feelings and he was always straight forward about what he wanted. I loved all his efforts, I loved when he would lay his heart right out there. I mean his words were unbeleivably sweet and his actions were incredibly hot. I felt for Jamie the most, I hurt for him the most and I just wanted him to be happy throughout this whole entire book.

You went round and round like a ferris wheel in this one. It’s always back and forth or hot and cold with B and Jamie. I would say it was annoying but it was kind of addicting. I just couldn’t put it down until I got to the end. This was my first time reading anything from Kandi Steiner and I thought her writing was beautiful. She was talking right to her readers with her words and I think the thing I liked the most was how real this book was. The relationship, it wasn’t a happily ever after one, it felt like a real relationship happening and I think that’s what spoke the most to me.

“You thought I would wait, and I thought you changed your mind.” Jamie moved to me then, slowly, as if he was waiting for me to stop him. Then, he bent at the knee to meet me at eye-level. “I could never change my mind about you.”

A Love Letter to Whiskey is complicated, nail biting, devastating, intense. It was all about friendship, loss, heartbreak, timing, but most of all love. I think you all need to get comfortable, pick up this book and take your first sip of whiskey because I promise after you’ve had a taste, theres’ no going back.

Purchase Now!

18 thoughts on “A Love Letter to Whiskey.

      1. I LOVED Jamie. But also, I related so much to B. Not that I disagree with ur thoughts on B but that’s exactly why I related so much to her so I was always rooting for her.

      2. I really liked B, I just would get so frustrated with her sometimes lol. I mean I get some of her decisions but I couldn’t help but just want to yell “BE WITH HIM” 😂 mostly because I’m just a hopeless romantic and I just want everyone in love to be together.

  1. That Synopsis Amanda! I NEED this book, I quickly sent a message to Gretchen at Chichnerdreads telling her look what Amanda just reviewed! she’s had her eye on this book for a while it seems. LOVED your review & the quotes you chose ❤ ❤ ❤

    1. Thanks love!! This book was good, I loved the beautiful quotes and the authors writing. I think you would like it! I waited forever to read it and I don’t know why, I’m glad I did though 😊💕

Leave a Reply

