A Mother’s Confession.

32284387

Goodreads.

Olivia and David were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby daughter Zoe came along, their world seemed complete.

But now David is dead and Olivia’s world is in pieces. While she is consumed with grief, her mother-in-law Ivy is also mourning the loss of her son. Both women are hiding secrets about the man they loved. Secrets that have put the family in danger.

Something was very wrong in Olivia and David’s marriage. Can Olivia and Ivy break their silence and speak the truth? A mother should protect her child, whatever the cost…shouldn’t she?

4.5/5 Stars!



“He’s dead and I’m safe, but I’m still scared. Sometimes I actually miss him, but then in the very next breath I find that I hate him so much that I hope there is a hell, just so that he can be suffering like he left me here to suffer.”

Completely incredible and heartbreaking. If I could find words to describe A Mother’s Confession, then those are what I would choose.

A Mother’s Confession is told in dual points of view and by that I mean very, very different points of view. We learn of an event they call ‘The Tragedy’ very early on in the story and as told in the blurb it ends up being Davids death. So we have Olivia, a widowed mother and then we have Ivy, Davids mother. We know about the tragedy from Olivia’s perspective since she is narrating the story from mostly the present. Ivy though, mostly talks about from when David was born and gives us a view of what their life and what David and Olivia’s life were like together. Soon secrets start spilling out and you feel your heart breaking a little more with each turn of a page.

Olivia was probably the strongest, most brave character I have ever met in a book. She was also a very broken woman, though. Surviving only by her young daughter Zoe, you can’t help but clutch your heart as you read her part of the story. She was amazing to me. Her story, her life, her pain, all of it was written so well. She fell in love with an abusive, manipulating man. He would do it so calmly at times that it made the hairs on my arms stand right up. When Olivia was finally healing though, and getting her life back together, it was seriously breathtaking and I would sigh with relief.

Ivy Gillespie was insane. I mean just writing about her character has my blood boiling. I hated her. She was COMPLETELY obsessed with her son David and I don’t mean it in a healthy way. I mean it in a possessive and just creepy way. The things she would let David get away with made me so sick to my stomach. Ivy was an enabler all the way when it came to David and I couldn’t believe the things she would say to encourage him. I can’t stand her and things would have been so much different if she would have opened her mouth the RIGHT way.

The characters in this book were spot on though. As much as I didn’t like Ivy, I think her character was needed to give this book the kind of emotion you felt. I loved so many other’s though, number one being Olivia. I also loved her parents and her sister, I loved Ingrid, Ellen and I completely adored Sebastian. The author did such a wonderful job just making you feel so much. This book is very emotional to say the least.

Towards the end you get a completely unexpected twist. I just had this gut feeling about it as I was inching closer to the last chapters. Even though I had a feeling, the reality still broke me to pieces. The raw pain and the realness you feel while reading this is crazy. I felt so many things while reading it and I don’t think I will ever forget it. It’s a very gripping story that you need to read.

Kelly Rimmer is now on my radar as an author!

Purchase Now!

17 thoughts on “A Mother’s Confession.

  1. Great review.I liked this book and I thought the two POVs were brilliant though I also loathed Ivy.It seems like you had suspicions about the twist.It totally caught me offguard.

    1. Thank you! Ivy was awful! I liked the two POV’s too. Yes I had suspicions, I think it was just from the community and the way people would act that started my suspicions but it still blew me away with the outcome!

  2. This sounds so good. I love your review. I’m glad you found a good read after your crazy work week last week. I shall add this one to my TBR. Even when it’s not romance, you end up giving me more to add to my TBR. 🙂

    1. It was super good!! Defiantly add it to your TBR, it’s worth a read. I am so happy I’m back into the swing of things now. I just started this book called Full Tilt by Emma Scott and it’s like consuming me lol, I’ve been reading it all day! Hopefully that means my December reading month will be a good one :).

      1. Is that a romance novel? I’ll go check it out on GR. I hope so as well. You need some chillax time after all the work you’ve been doing. Good books always help with that. 🙂 Oh, I finished Bossman today. Cute book. Thanks for recommending it.

      2. Yes it is! It looks like it might have a sad outcome but it’s really good! I’m about halfway through, I like the characters. It kind of reminds me of Bright Side by Kim Holden in a way if you’ve ever read that. I’m glad you liked Bossman! It was super cute 😊

Leave a Reply

