Tay and Luke (Part 4.)

It’s date night for Luke and Tay! Catch up if you need to :).

Meet Tay.

Meet Luke.

Date proposal.



I’m only 24 years old, I should know how to go on a date. I should know what to wear, or how to do my hair and makeup. As I’m standing at the vanity, curling some of my long hair, I find myself becoming anxious. I have only been on a date with one man, the man I married five years ago when I was nineteen. I’ve only ever been with one person since I was fifteen years old. So yeah, I’m a little nervous. Hell, I’m terrified.

Luke Hunt, a man here temporarily that I know absolutely nothing about. I know he’s not going to stay, so why am I even getting to know him? Maybe that’s exactly the reason though, I won’t have to worry about attachments or feelings developing because in the end I know he won’t be staying here with me. He won’t know anything about my life, or my secrets or the pain I hold in my heart for what happened a year ago. I think that’s what I want, a stranger who I can be anyone I want to be with. I don’t have to be the broken woman I know I am. I can be strong and happy and flirty and different.

Yes, I can do this.

I’m second guessing myself the minute I pull into the small cottages long driveway. Everything is so dimly lit and romantic and I suddenly feel my pulse accelerating like crazy. I take a deep breath and reassure myself that it means nothing, it’s all just a little fun and games. I’m silently chanting my words of encouragement the closer I get to the door.

Every unsure feeling I felt days and hours leading up to this moment falls to the floor once that front door swings open. Luke is standing in the archway in faded blue jeans that hug every part of his athletic legs and bare feet that give the look that casual sexy way. I move my eyes up to come face to face with a button down shirt that gives you a glimpse at all those hard ridges I know are underneath. Finally I’m hit with his intense blue eyes, his dark wavy curls and a days worth of scruff that makes me wonder what it feels like against my skin.

Luke is smiling at me now and I blush with fear that he has just heard everything I’m thinking.

“Hi Tay,” he says with this deep raspy voice. What the hell am I doing here?

“Hi Luke, thanks for inviting me over. I brought dessert, well really it’s just our cheesecake from the coffee shop but it’s the best cheesecake around. We make it fresh everyday and I’m pretty sure I picked the best batch of the day. Sorry, I’m rambling, I’ll just stop now.”

Jesus, what was wrong with me I seriously sound like a high school girl going on her first date. I make myself look up again and I see amusment written all over Luke’s face, well at least he thinks I’m funny.

“That’s good then because we will probably need it to wash down my attempt at cooking a meal” he says as he ushers me in. The cottage is cute and cozy with neutral walls and decor. He gives me a small tour and pours us both a glass of wine, I gulp it down immedietly trying to calm my nerves that are bubbling to the surface again. 

“How is your training going, Luke? I’ve seen you run by the shop every morning since you’ve been here.” Something washes over his face as he searches for something to say, “It’s had it’s ups and downs. I seem to find myself distracted more often than I would like though.” That statement catches me off guard, it’s surprising really. He always seems to be focused and determined. 

“Really? What’s been distracting you?” A sexy smile plays against his lips as he looks right into my eyes, “A certain girl I get my morning coffee from. You, Tay. I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately. I’m glad you are here.”

I chug some more wine, I can’t believe I’ve been his distraction. I don’t do anything, I wear a stained apron all day and make his coffee. How is that distracting!? Still I can’t hide my pleasure from hearing him say that. “Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one. I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately too Luke.” And it’s the truth, he’s been on my mind so much lately, when I’m gardening, when I’m reading a book before bed. I shouldn’t be thinking about him this much though, I hardly even know him. 

He smiles and leads me into the kitchen, it smells like some sort of pasta dish is cooking in the oven. “So, what’s on the menu tonight chef?” I ask him playfully. “Ah, yes the menu. Well I only know about two types of dishes, pasta and anything that can be heated up or put in the oven. So I went with pasta, a chicken Alfredo bake.” I laugh a few times at his words, which feels so damn good. 

He stops and looks at me so intently, I feel my face heating up but he isn’t tearing his eyes away and neither am I. “Why are you looking at me like that?” I say, trying to find my voice. He just keeps looking for a moment before he answers me, “You have no idea how long I have wanted to hear you laugh or see you smile. I just didn’t know it would make me feel this good when it finally happened.” Now I’m the one gawking at him, those were the sweetest words I’ve ever heard in the past year. 

He walks towards me, and I feel his hand go around my waist. I just met this man, this is our first date but I can’t help my attraction towards him. He leans in slightly and his eyes are looking into mine. I’m breathing so hard and my heart feels like it’s going to jump right out of my chest. He whispers in my ear, “I really want to kiss you right now Tay, but I need you to move in first if you want me too. You’ve been through enough and I would never take something you don’t want to give.” 

My whole world turned upside down with those sweet words and without even thinking, with everything in my body clenching, I knew. I went on my tiptoes, looked into those memorizing eyes of his, tilted my head up and I went in. I took the kiss I wanted so bad and I felt his groan of appreciation as one hand dug into my waist and the other was tangled up in my hair, angling my head to take the kiss deeper than I ever knew was possible. My body was on fire, it was aching with every touch. A years worth of build up was now coming at me in full force. My handy electronic companion has nothing on this kiss. 

beep, beep, beep

We back away like teenagers getting caught at the alarming sound. Smoke has filled the kitchen and both of our eyes widen. Luke leaps to attention, “Oh shit, the pasta!” He opens the oven door and even more smoke fills the house, I open the windows and jump onto a chair trying to fan out the fire alarm. 

It finally stops, and I am cracking up and coughing at the same time. I’m laughing so hard that it eventually makes Luke laugh too. The hottest moment I have had in a year, and it ends like this. We are in a fit of giggles, and tears before we finally calm down. 

“Well, what do we do now?” I ask him, trying to catch my breath. 

“Takeout sound good?” Luke says with amusement written all over his face. Takeout has never sounded so good. 



Disaster first date! How cute are they though!? Seriously love these two characters and the hots they have for each other.

Thanks for continuing to read my writing!

10 thoughts on “Tay and Luke (Part 4.)

  1. So adorable! I love this, Amanda! I love all of the short stories you write. 🙂 Have you been writing any more of your novel? Oh and the editor is working on my book. I should have it back soon. My cover designer is holding us up a bit because of the fonts. 😂

    1. Thanks so much!!! Yes I have been writing and working on it 🙂 still not to the middle point but hopefully soon then it will be easier to get through! I can’t wait for your book!! Dying to read it 😊 Did you have to do a different cover!?

    1. Thanks so much 🙂 Oh I know! The anxiety is so real, but writing about the eyes reminded me of my boyfriend. He has these crazy intense blue eyes! Kind of relaxes you when you’re are nervous :).

Leave a Reply

