Somewhere In The Shallow Sea

For such a short novel, Somewhere In The Shallow Sea packed a big punch.

30270716

Goodreads

In this suspenseful thriller, two lovers are in a race against all odds in the jungles of the Philippines to save their kidnapped friend. Somewhere in the Shallow Sea will test the main characters’ determination in order to outwit the man who is after the scientific compound they brought as ransom.

3/5 Stars!

**I would like to thank the Author for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.**



 In the opening to this story, the main character Danny is working on perfecting his scientific compound when he finds out his best friend and work partner Blake has been taken off his ship and is now missing in the Philippines.

Does this kidnapping have to do with money? Or does it have to do with the cube they have been working on? Or maybe it was just a random hostage situation? Danny’s mind is all over the place when he sets off to the Philippines to save his friend.

Danny is a great main character and he’s also the main narrator throughout the story. He’s not perfect and he doesn’t always make the best decisions but he tries his hardest and that’s all that matters. A little further into the book, we meet Helen Glass. Helen is Blake’s cousin, but more than that her and Danny used to be a serious item. I think Helen was my favorite out of the two, she was a strong female and she was quick on her toes. She never once faltered from being scared, she always pushed through further and further into the jungle.

It was interesting to find out through all the other things happening, if their relationship would re kindle, or if everything was just too far gone already.

Although this isn’t the usual type of book I would read, I did enjoy it. My favorite parts would probably be the romance between Danny and Helen and also the thrilling journey they were on. I also enjoyed the fact that it was set in the Philippines, that was a nice change and it gives you a lot of interesting facts and history on all the different areas around there.

I didn’t think this book packed a lot of suspense like I was hoping for though. Don’t get me wrong, it was full of action all the way through which made up for the fact that I kind of had a feeling of what was going to happen throughout the story. It just didn’t have me on my toes which I usually suspect with suspense novels.

If you are looking for a quick read and you enjoy science, action and a little bit of romance then I defiantly recommend Somewhere In The Shallow Sea to you! The beautiful brightly green cover will make a perfect addition to your library or kindle :).

Purchase Now!

15 thoughts on “Somewhere In The Shallow Sea

    1. It can be. Most of the time they are just looking for an honest review though. I used to be nervous giving low scores, but being honest about your thoughts is really the only way to go when reviewing.

      1. That is what I dread about December… my book goes live… and the critics get to rip apart my baby. But yeah, I’d rather honesty without the nastiness than the other options! 😛 You do good work, keep it up!

  1. Ooh, this is definitely an interesting concept! And with a fair amount of book bloggers from the Philippines, this should be fascinating to them as well. Too bad it didn’t blow you away, suspense-wise, but still sounds like a nice read :). Great review, Amanda!

Leave a Reply

