The Girls Next Door.

One warm spring evening, five teenagers meet in a local park. Only four will come out alive.

.31950001

Goodreads

Six months after the stabbing of sixteen-year-old Deanna Barker, someone is coming after the teenagers of Stockleigh, as a spate of vicious assaults rocks this small community. Revenge for Deanna? Or something more?

Detective Eden Berrisford is locked into a race against time to catch the twisted individual behind the attacks – but when her own niece, Jess Mountford, goes missing, the case gets personal.

With the kidnapper threatening Jess’s life, can Eden bring back her niece to safety? Or will the people of Stockleigh be forced to mourn another daughter…?

4.5/5 Stars!

*I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*



Six months after the murder of Deanna Barker, assaults on local girls start surfacing once again. Could it be more teenagers making trouble in Stockleigh again? Could it be some sort of revenge since Deanna’s murder trial is less than a week away? When one girls ends up missing, anything could be possible. If anyone can solve this case though, it’s Detective Eden Berrisford.

The Girls Next Door was a thriller that kept me on my toes. It wasn’t just the adrenaline filled beginning, it was also the middle and the action packed end. The Author never stopped bringing on the twists and turns throughout this whole story. When you think you have everything figured out, Sherratt throws the bone a little bit farther out and keeps you searching.

I was surprised at the whole close knit town and family dynamic in this story. I was mostly surprised though with how much I would love Eden. She is such a great detective but she’s also fiercely involved with her family. Along with her daughter Casey, her sister Laura and her nieces Jess and Sarah are everything to her. When Jess goes missing, Eden’s true loving character and determination to doing her job really starts to show. I was so happy to find out that The Girls Next Door is the first book in a new series that features Eden.

This story has a lot of secrets and newly developed evidence that makes you invested, you just have this need to explore every new piece of the puzzle that comes into play. The most interesting part to me though was Eden’s ex-husband Danny. He’s talked about briefly, mostly that he just up and left one day. I was ok with that explanation until Eden would talk more about it here and there. It makes me that much more excited for this series to continue, because my curiosity is on high alert.

That’s all the juicy details I’m giving you though! As much as I would love to talk about this book more, I think it’s best to keep it a surprise. The less you know about the plot and details, the more fun you will have reading this book.

This is a great series to start and to look out for, it has so much potential and so many possibilities to work with. It’s a fast paced thriller that will have you turning pages as fast as you can. It will keep you on your toes and at the edge of your seat I promise. I reccomened it to anyone really, even if you don’t like thrillers that much, I think you would still like this book!

Grab your copy today!

38 thoughts on “The Girls Next Door.

  1. I keep seeing this book on blogs, and your review encouraged me to request it on Netgalley (even though I’m desperately trying not to request any more books until I got though more of my TBR pile – your fault haha!) great review 🙂 – Laura

  2. I keep reading rave reviews for this one, so my eye has been on it. I am excited to see that it did not disappoint you 🙂 I want to request it now, but my pile is so large I am trying to refrain.. sigh. Love the review!

  3. i love that there’s so much ‘stickiness’ added… the husband for example and the emerging new evidence… sign of well written book when upon finishing you’ll want to read more! 😀

    1. Yes!! I’m waiting for the next book patiently. There is defiantly a bunch of situations in this book that will hopefully amount to a lot more in the upcoming books in the series :). It’s great!

  4. I love that you’re stepping outside your normal genre. 🙌 Now we need to get you reading Six of Crows so we can fangirl over Kaz. 🙂 Nice review! I was so tempted to request this book on NetGalley. Now I’m thinking I should’ve asked for a copy. I wonder if it’s too late. 🙂

    1. I know! It’s been fun this month. I am for sure going to read Six Of Crows, I love seeing all the fan girling around for Kaz :). Thank you!! I don’t think it’s too late, you should be able to ask for a copy. I think you would like it, it’s super fast paced and doesn’t let up much through the entire book.

  5. Awesome review! This book is literally everywhere! I love the blurb, and all the reviews I read say it’s a must-read, but because of all the hype being created, I’ll have to wait a little before reading it to give the story a fair chance. It totally sounds like my favorite kind of books so I wouldn’t want to destroy it with high expectations!

    1. Yes, I didn’t realize all the hype until after I read it! Which I’m glad because it defiantly got a fair rating for me and then I started seeing so many reviews! Thankfully I didn’t see them before or I would have been put off by the hype too. But defiantly read it, I think you would like it 🙂

  6. Great review Amanda! Thrillers are always hard to review without giving anything away. I cannot imagine being a detective on a case and having your niece turn up missing. My stomach is in a knot just thinking about it!

    1. It is!! You just want to blab about all the fun parts lol. I know right!? I couldn’t imagine my nieces going missing, I would be going nuts, especially if I was on the police force. Stockleigh, the town they are in has pretty interesting characters. Especially the teenagers! It’s such a good book 🙂

Leave a Reply

