Manipulated Lives

Makes you wonder, what are people really after…

30509344

Goodreads

Five stories – Five Lives.

In this collection of short novellas, you meet people like you and me, intent on living happy lives, yet each of them, in one way or another, is caught up and damaged by a manipulative individual. First you meet a manipulator himself, trying to make sense of his irreversible incarceration. Next, there is Tess, whose past is haunted by a wrong decision, then young, successful and well balanced Sophie, who is drawn into the life of a little boy and his troubled father. Next, there is teenage Holly, who is intent on making a better life for herself and finally Lisa, who has to face a parent’s biggest regret. All stories highlight to what extent abusive manipulation can distort lives and threaten our very feeling of self-worth.

3.5/5 Stars!

**I would like to thank the author for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!**



I love psychological books! I swear I should have went into that kind of field, I think I would enjoy it.

Welcome to the world of manipulating! Manipulated Lives is a collection of novella’s. Although I don’t really read too many novella’s often, I do have to say this one was pretty interesting and kept my attention. It follows five stories and five different lives. In each story, the characters are so different and each one has it’s own unique writing.

Although each story is different, it all comes down to one thing: manipulation. Each story shines a light on a different kind of manipulator. Most of the stories are told from the victims POV but there are some that are told from the manipulators side.

I think it’s so fascinating how there are so many people like this out there but you would never really know from just looking at them, unless you had a sixth sense or something. These collection of stories show you how easy it is to get caught up with these kinds of people. They all seem so normal, but really they are just monsters in disguise willing to do anything so they can get what they want.

I loved the diversity in characters that the author chose. There was such a wide range from way older, to middle aged and even some teenagers. Once again the author did a great job at showing you how anyone is is capable of manipulating you if you look hard enough.

I did have two favorite stories in this collection, the first one was Sophie who was a successful middle aged woman who was drawn to a lonely little boy and his troubled father. This one might have been my favorite, I think I liked Sophie’s character the most and it was a little bit more thrilling and kept me on my toes.

My second favorite would be the story of Holly, a teenager trying to find her own independence and a life of her own. I really liked Holly also, she reminded me of myself in some ways when I was a teenager. Always trying to do things on your own, but sometimes you were just a bit too trusting or maybe a bit too naive.

Overall I think this is a great quick read that will keep your attention and take you into five different lives that are equally interesting. I loved the writing and how each novella was wrote differently. I also loved the overall idea of manipulation, it was really interesting and scary thinking about how many manipulators we actually do have out there in the world. If you are looking for a quick psychological read than I defiantly reccomened picking up this one!

Purchase now!

23 thoughts on “Manipulated Lives

  1. Great review Amanda! I know of one other blogger who was reading this but I’m not sure if they reviewed it just yet. Manipulated Lives sounds like such an interesting read, I’ve been on the less desirable end myself so I’m curious about this collection. It’s so true though, you never can really tell when you’ve come across a manipulator unless you have a sixth sense. Adding to my TBR 😉

    1. It’s very interesting! I know I never really thought much about manipulation until I read this. I mean it was always in all the thrillers I read but this puts a huge spot light on it! I think you would like it!

  2. Nice review, girl! A bunch of novellas in one book is interesting. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like that. I have read a single novella though. I’m also hooked on thrillers lately. They’re so intense I keep picking them up. I See You is a hot one for 2017 if you want to get a copy on NetGalley. That one sounds awesome! 🙌

    1. Thank you! It was pretty Interesting! I’ve never read a collection of novellas that go together either! I tried to request I See You already but for some reason it was declined 😭😭 it’s been on my TBR for a while! I guess I’ll just have to wait for it to come out lol. I know it’s going to be awesome!

  3. Awesome review Amanda! I saw this one on Donna’s blog recently as well and thought it sounded intriguing there as well. She also pointed out that the diversity of the characters was wonderfully done 🙂

  4. Great review!
    I have never read a book solely based on manipulation but now I’m intrigued to. I love the particular mention of diversity. I will definitely check this one out on Goodreads.

  5. Great review! I’m happy you liked it. I loved the unique voice of each character, the author did a great job with it. My favorite story was the first one, it was like a blow to the chest! I loved trying to understand what was going on through the old man’s eyes.

    1. I did like it, it was very different and well put together. The first one was really good, it started you off with a bang. I was like what the heck, what has this old man done in his life! lol

Leave a Reply

