Behind Closed Doors

“The door opens and he stands in the doorway, my handsome, psychopathic husband.”

29503757

Goodreads

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.

You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

5/5 Stars!



After seeing so many five star reviews for Behind Closed Doors, I knew I needed to read it and I was blown away by how terrifying the truth really was!

Jack and Grace Angel seem perfect, too perfect and you get this eerie feeling right from the first chapter. At first the book has you wondering what kind of turn it could take, and believe me there are no warnings or anything giving you even the slightest clue on what was actually going on.

“I can’t help thinking it’s a shame he’s such a sadistic bastard, because he has wonderful manners.”

Grace is made out to seem like the perfect wife to her, as perfect lawyer husband. She cares  as much as she can for her sister Millie and Jack helps women of domestic violence win cases against their husbands. To anyone’s eyes they have it all, but when I found out the truth behind everything It was horrifying.

It’s narrated from Grace’s POV the whole story, going from past and present which worked out great. I really liked Grace, she was much stronger than she thinks and she keeps a level of kindness always tucked away, especially towards her sister Millie. I was also impressed with how clever Millie was! As I was clutching this crazy page turner, Millie would always surprise me and I would find myself silently fist bumping her on several occasions.

As for Jack Angel, I will reference from ‘The Little Rascals’ (I just watched it the other day.)

“Dear Jack,

I hate your stinking guts. You make me vomit. You’re the scum between my toes. 

Love, Amanda.”

Seriously though, he made me sick, I’ve never read about a more twisted character! Reading about some of the stuff he would do, made me a bit queasy so be warned!

“When I look at him I feel dismayed as I always do at how normal he looks, because surely there should be something–pointed ears or a pair of horns–to warn people of his evilness.”

This was a great psychological thriller, one of the best I have read yet. The writing and the story depth was just great! There wasn’t a lot of suspense or anything like that, I would say this book took you on more of an emotional ride. I was gripping my kindle, rapidly turning the pages just because I needed to know how it would all end. If my heart would break more or not. It’s like a build up to the end. I even thought the ending was great, just waiting to see what happens. It wasn’t a crazy ending but it was satisfying just like the rest of the book.

Behind Closed Doors should be on your radar this Fall and Winter if it isn’t already! It’s a great read and I defiantly reccomened it to anyone who likes psychological thrillers because you will LOVE this one. Even if you don’t though, I think it’s a good book to try out, it might turn you into a fan of that genre!

Buy Now!

30 thoughts on “Behind Closed Doors

  1. Great review! I ave been wanting to read this book ever since I heard about it! Psychological thrillers are my favourite and I have a feeling this book will be on my favourite shelf! Thanks so much for the great review, I can’t wait to get hold of it 🙂

  2. That’s the second rave review I’ve read of this one, so it must be good!! 😀 Love your little letter there, I hope he got what was coming for him in the end 😉

  3. Woohoo, a lawyer husband for a psychological thriller which has received such praise, I need to read it! It’s been sitting on my Kindle shelf for a month.

  4. What a great review and I echo your letter to Jack – I don’t think I appreciated quite how much this book had burnt itself into my brain until quite a while after I finished it – I keep thinking of the message in the book… creepy and gripping.

  5. Great review Amanda!!! You have convinced me that I MUST read this one!!!

    “As for Jack Angel, I will reference from ‘The Little Rascals’ (I just watched it the other day.)
    “Dear Jack,
    I hate your stinking guts. You make me vomit. You’re the scum between my toes. 
    Love, Amanda.””

    hahaha I laughed out loud at this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

