Away From The Dark (The Light, #2)

“The Light is here and there and everywhere. There’s no escaping it.”

28423951

Goodreads

Nine months ago, Sara Adams awoke with no memory. The man holding her hand told her she’s a member of The Light, a tight-knit religious group led by the terrifying and charismatic Father Gabriel. As a woman in the community of The Light, her duty is to be unquestionably obedient and to submit to the will of her husband.

But as Sara’s memory starts to return and she remembers her past, she sees that everything she’s been told is a lie. The Light is an insidious and dangerous organization, and its corrupting influence reaches well beyond the confines of the remote campus where Sara is being held.

The more she remembers, the more it becomes clear that Jacob, the man who calls himself her husband, is keeping shattering secrets of his own.

But Sara cannot flee alone, leaving innocents behind. She must fight to extinguish The Light.

4.5/5 Stars!

**Thank you to Netgalley and to the publisher for my ARC copy of Away From The Dark, in exchange for an honest review.**



After reading Into The Light (review here), and the HUGE cliff hanger it left you with at the end I knew as soon as I received an ARC copy of Away From The Dark I was going to dive right in. Let me tell you, it was not disappointing!

Thankfully the opening of Away From The Dark is like a recap of the last chapter in the first book which was great because my mind was a little fuzzy! We pick up right where we left off with Sara Adams finally starting to get back some of her memory that she lost nine months ago following a so called “accident.”

As memory after memory starts flooding Sara’s mind, her first instinct is to flee. Who is Jacob, the man she has grown to love? The man she has been such an obedient wife to? The man who she might even be carrying a baby with? Why was she in The Light? Sara finds herself doing the one thing she is never supposed to do as a woman of The Light, question.

“Everything was wrong. I was surrounded by lies. How had it happened? Why had it happened? Who had done this to me?”

As Sara develops a plan and makes a run for it, she just as quickly finds it all falling apart. Soon Jacob is at her side once again, and it’s pretty much them against The Light just trying to survive and get out of there anyway they can.

I’m finding out that romantic suspense just might be my favorite, and both of these books carried so much of it in each of them. The characters were just as strong and even more developed in this one, Sara and Jacob are my favorite.  Sara is so sweet and intelligent and Jacob is so strong and handsome and has such a soft spot for Sara, it’s adorable.

“As I did I realized what I’d probably already known— I’d already trusted Jacob with everything: my mind, body, and life.”

You might think this just sounds so cut and dry but I’m trying my hardest not to spoil anything. Finding out all of the secrets about the characters like Jacob, Stella, Father Gabriel, Dylan, and so many more was crazy! I mean The Light was a Cult without a doubt, which was so interesting. As bad and crazy as Cult’s are, I love reading about them!

I thought the ending to Into The Light was a cliff hanger, well the ending and epilogue to Away From The Dark had me staring at my kindle like WHAT IS HAPPENING!? I need more, I don’t even care if it’s not in Sara and Jacobs POV anymore, I just need more of what the heck is going to happen to all of them! To me that ending says this is not over and there will be more, unless Aleatha just wants to torment us.

“I’m getting us out—away from The Light and away from the dark.”

Aleatha Romig to me has such a unique writing style, she can create romance like no other but she can also string together all of these crazy suspense moments that have you biting your fingernails. I love her writing and I can’t wait to read more of her books, which hopefully includes more of The Light series 😉 !

I think a lot of you would like these books, so if you haven’t already then you should pick up Into The Light and get to reading so you can be equally impressed by Away From The Dark which releases on October 18th, so you have time! 🙂

Buy Into The Light!

Pre-Order Away From The Dark!

10 thoughts on “Away From The Dark (The Light, #2)

  1. Finished a few days ago! I really liked it, although the first one was better because all the new experiences 🙂 But the epilogue was great!

  2. I did not know this was a duology! Cults are so fascinating, I’m happy both books were good, sometimes it feels flat because details are left out or characters are not developed enough, but it sounds like it did not happen here! Great review!

    1. Yesss! The first one leaves such a cliff hanger and although I liked the first one the best, Away From The Dark was super satisfying too! I’m hoping theres more though because the ending of this one makes you want more!

Leave a Reply

