Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet, #1)

“I love you… I never stopped, and I never will.”

31398418

Goodreads

One story. Two couples.

I proposed on our first date.
She laughed and told me I was insane. Less than a day later, she said yes.
It was a whirlwind, but we were happy…
Until we got greedy and wanted a family.

It was a life I couldn’t give her, not for lack of trying. Fertility just wasn’t on our side. We sought out doctors and treatments. Spent money we didn’t have. Lied to our families. Smiled for our friends. Put on a brave face for a world that didn’t understand.
Finally, we were successful…
Until we were forced to bury our son.

We were left broken, battered, and destroyed.
They say love is in the details, but it was the details that ruined us.

This is the story of how I took back what had always been mine.
The retrieval of my wife and our family.

5/5 Stars!



First of all, READ THIS BOOK! That’s all I have to say…

Just kidding, of course I’m going to say more because I was completely captivated by this writing! I have never read anything from Aly Martinez before but now she goes on my favorite’s list.

Retrieval is the first book in a duet series. It follows two couples throughout the story. First we have Roman and Elisabeth, which by the way I absolutely LOVE them! They are also mainly the one’s narrating the story. The blurb does a great way at showing how spontaneous and crazy their marriage started. I know I say all the time I hate insta-love and I do but hearing about them and their wild first night of dating, proposal and marriage was the most adorable thing in the world. It just felt so right, and when you read about them you will know what I’m talking about. It’s told mostly from their present but it does go into their past at times so you get a better idea of everything they have been through.

“But I’d never, not once, seen Elisabeth with just my eyes. My heart was just as much a part of the way I viewed her as my retinas.”

The blurb also does a good job at telling how their marriage ended, after trying and trying to have a baby they just couldn’t. Even after going the medical route, it just was not working in their favor. It impacted themselves and their marriage big time and Elisabeth couldn’t handle it anymore, so she left.

The other couple in this story is Clare and Walt Noir which you will have to meet yourselves because talking about them too much would give the story away. Clare also narrates in this story. All I have to say about it though is when you figure out how these couples are intertwined, it will blow your mind. After meeting all sets of characters, the book mainly follows the connections they have to each other and the big twist in the story.

This book had  all the feels! I mean it has an amazing second chance romance brewing with  so much intensity. It has enough emotion packed in it to keep you satisfied. It also has so many twists and turns and crazy suspense. It’s a rollercoaster ride without a doubt.

“My past, present, and future were walking out of my life, and I stood immobile as every fiber in my being screamed for me to drop to my knees and beg her to stay.”

I love stories like this because I am such a sucker for romance but I also love thrillers and all the fun of suspense. It’s so great when an author can create a wonderful and heartbreaking romance story but also give you the twist and suspense you are looking for all wrapped into one. That’s exactly what Retrieval is, a romance with a bit of a dark twist.

“It had been nearly two years since we’d last spoken, and I still felt the invisible string binding us together. I couldn’t explain my pull to that man…”

The ending is such a cliff hanger and once again usually I hate that, but this book makes it work! I probably wouldn’t be saying that if I had to wait months to read Transfer though, the second book in this duet series. Thankfully I don’t and the story will continue as soon as I wrap up this review :).

I know so many of you who have commented on how good this book looks and I am hear to tell you that it’s even better than it looks and sounds. I reccomened it to anyone with the slightest interest in it. I promise, you won’t be disappointed once you pick it up, at least I hope not. It was defiantly a five star read for me and I can’t wait to start Transfer!

Buy Now!

13 thoughts on “Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet, #1)

    1. Yesss! This one couple is totally romantic and cute but the other couple is more domestic suspense and there’s a HUGE twist in this story and the next that I just started reading! Defiantly worth going on your TBR 🙂

      1. Oh, good. I can deal with sex. I just can’t do erotica. There was a book I read awhile back for a RaR that was supposed to be a zombie thriller, and it was erotica with zombies thrown in, plus the main character was a total manipulative jerk.
        I just can’t handle explicit sex over and over. But just sex for the sake of the story is fine.
        I can’t believe I can’t read those books…I would think I could, but I just get embarrassed reading stuff like that. I would die before I could read 50 Shades.

      2. Oh don’t worry! I don’t think it will embarrass you, it’s defiantly just for the story! Yes if you don’t like that kind of reading then defiantly stay away from Fifty Shades!! lol your cheeks would be on fire.

Leave a Reply

