October TBR!

It’s OCTOBER! That means spooky books and everything fun!

tumblr_lsdcvktmx21qbm990o1_500

What’s your favorite part of October!? I love the weather, grabbing random peoples shirts because I’m scared during haunted houses and of course covering my eyes during all the scary movies! All that fun stuff lol. My absolute favorite thing though is that October is the start of the two great months to come! November and DECEMBER 🙂 I love Christmas time, but I’ll just enjoy October for now and all it’s pretty.

Not going to lie ya’ll, I had a hard time figuring out what books I wanted to read this month. I’m defiantly going to re read some awesome classic spooky books but finding one’s to read for review was tough! I finally narrowed it down though, so here is my TBR for this month!



29503757

Goodreads

8 hours, 23 minutes

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.

You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

28423951

Goodreads

As a woman in the community of The Light, her duty is to be unquestionably obedient and to submit to the will of her husband.

But as Sara’s memory starts to return and she remembers her past, she sees that everything she’s been told is a lie. The Light is an insidious and dangerous organization, and its corrupting influence reaches well beyond the confines of the remote campus where Sara is being held.

With everything at stake, Sara struggles to sort out her true memories from her indoctrination. The desire to escape consumes her, but who can she trust? And which other followers of The Light were forced into this life, brainwashed to believe they belonged? The more she remembers, the more it becomes clear that Jacob, the man who calls himself her husband, is keeping shattering secrets of his own.

27276292

Goodreads

Zoe Whittaker is living a charmed life. She is the beautiful young wife to handsome, charming Wall Street tycoon Henry Whittaker. She is a member of Manhattan’s social elite. She is on the board of one of the city’s most prestigious philanthropic organizations. She has a perfect Tribeca penthouse in the city and a gorgeous lake house in the country. The finest wine, the most up-to-date fashion, and the most luxurious vacations are all at her fingertips.

What no one knows is that five years ago, Zoe’s life was in danger. Back then, Zoe wasn’t Zoe at all. Now her secrets are coming back to haunt her. As the past and present collide, Zoe must decide who she can trust before she—whoever she is—vanishes completely.

31450072

Goodreads

Emma didn’t know how long he hid, silent and unmoving, in the large Victorian wardrobe to the side of her single bed. She didn’t know how long he peered, salivating and drooling, between the two heavy dark oak doors, and watched, mesmerised, as she slowly drifted into fitful sleep. She didn’t know what time he pushed the doors open and crept towards her in the drab grey darkness of the night.

Detective Inspector Gravel finds himself floundering when a local nineteen-year-old university student is abducted and imprisoned by a sadistic serial killer, who has already tortured and killed at least five young women.

The greater the evil, the more deadly the game… How far would you go to save your life?

29963453

Goodreads

Moments.

Our lives are a collection of moments. Some utterly painful and full of yesterday’s hurts. Some beautifully hopeful and full of tomorrow’s promises.

I’ve had many moments in my lifetime, moments that changed me, challenged me. Moments that scared me and engulfed me. However, the biggest ones—the most heartbreaking and breathtaking ones—all included him.

I was ten years old when I lost my voice. A piece of me was stolen away, and the only person who could truly hear my silence was Brooks Griffin. He was the light during my dark days, the promise of tomorrow, until tragedy found him. Tragedy that eventually drowned him in a sea of memories.

This is the story of a boy and girl who loved each other, but didn’t love themselves. A story of life and death. Of love and broken promises.

Of moments.

31398418

Goodreads

One story. Two couples.

I proposed on our first date.
She laughed and told me I was insane. Less than a day later, she said yes.
It was a whirlwind, but we were happy…
Until we got greedy and wanted a family.

It was a life I couldn’t give her, not for lack of trying. Fertility just wasn’t on our side. We sought out doctors and treatments. Spent money we didn’t have. Lied to our families. Smiled for our friends. Put on a brave face for a world that didn’t understand.
Finally, we were successful…
Until we were forced to bury our son.

We were left broken, battered, and destroyed.
They say love is in the details, but it was the details that ruined us.

This is the story of how I took back what had always been mine.
The retrieval of my wife and our family.

29155108

Goodreads

One story. Two couples.

I fell in love with a man who didn’t exist.

What started out as romance ended in hell.
His words turned to razor blades.
His kisses converted to fists.
His embrace became my cage.
His body transformed into a weapon, stealing parts of me until ultimately….
I broke.

I hated him.
My sole job in life became to protect our daughter.

I wasn’t sure I’d ever escape the prison he’d skillfully crafted from my fears.
Until the day our savior arrived.

This is the story of how I escaped the man who thought he owned me.
The transfer of my life and my family.

27190530

Goodreads

(I didn’t get to read this last month like I planned, so defiantly finding time for it this month. It’s hockey season, duh!)

Hockey player Leo Trevi has spent the last six years trying to do two things: get over the girl who broke his heart, and succeed in the NHL. But on the first day he’s called up to the newly franchised Brooklyn Bruisers, Leo gets checked on both sides, first by the team’s coach—who has a long simmering grudge, and then by the Bruisers’ sexy, icy publicist—his former girlfriend Georgia Worthington.

Saying goodbye to Leo was one of the hardest things Georgia ever had to do—and saying hello again isn’t much easier. Georgia is determined to keep their relationship strictly professional, but when a press conference microphone catches Leo declaring his feelings for her, things get really personal, really fast….



That wraps up my TBR! eight great books I can’t wait to get my hands on! Oh and I’m also planning on reading The Goal by Elle Kennedy, the last book in the Off-Campus series but I didn’t want to put the blurb on because it would totally give away the series to everyone who hasn’t read it ;).

What are you reading this month!? Any spooky fun books? Let me know!

Have a great one!

38 thoughts on “October TBR!

  1. Those Retrieval books sound intense. I read the first chapter of Behind Closed Doors earlier, and I can’t wait to devour that book. Later, I’ll chillax and dig further into that one. We’ll have to compare notes after you read it. I was tempted to ask for that Rookie Move book. It was sent to me last month I think as a book tour deal, and I forgot all about it. You get scared of movies and all my favorite things. Wait until you see all my spooky things I bought today for Halloween. I plan to dress up my books. 🙂 🎃👻💀🕸 Yay for Spooktober! 🙂

    1. Oh my gosh! I’m almost finished with Retrieval and it’s amazing. I’m loving it! I can’t wait to read Behind Closed Doors, we will defiantly have to compare notes. I’ll let you know how Rookie Move is!

      Lol yes I get scared but it’s so fun, I love the adrenaline rush. I can’t wait to see all your spooky dresses up books and decor 🎃🎃

      1. I better add that one to my TBR. It sounds like it’s darker than the normal romance novel. Yeah, let me know what you think for sure. Ha! I love my scary movies. Freddy and me are old friends! He makes me laugh. 🙂 I think that makes me crazy. lol 😜 I’m planning to work on the spooky pics tomorrow I wanted to use them for Instagram and a TBR post, but it’s rained in Florida almost since I got here and I have no natural light. 😂 Boo!

      2. It’s defiently a little darker! It’s about two couples one is so stinking cute! And the other has some crazy domestic problems happening, it’s just crazy. You need to read them. I just finished the first one and I am diving right into the second book to see how it all plays out! I can’t wait for your pictures, after I cut my grass today I am putting my outside stuff out 🙂 Can’t wait!

      3. That sounds so good. I’ll have to check it out. I’m slowly working on all my pics. I should have some on Instagram tomorrow and some scattered throughout the month. I’m planning to use my own pics for books reviews where I own a physical copy of the book.

  2. Behind Closed Doors has the perfect October title in my opinion. Mysterious, but not “monster” crazy, haha. The blurb for Away From The Dark really sells the story, it sounds so interesting! I said I would not buy any more books in 2016 but I can’t help but add The Vanishing Year to my wishlist 😀
    I’m only going to reread an old Goosebumps book for Halloween night, my spooky reads end here 😀 Have a wonderfully scary Spooktober!

    1. I think I might be most excited about Behind Closed Doors! You should add Into The Light to your TBR too! It’s the first in the duet series. It was soooo good and it left such a big cliff hanger so I’m super excited to finish with Away From The Dark :). I knew I needed to read The Vanishing Year as soon as I found out it released!

      I love Goosebumps! lol thanks girl! You have a great one too 🙂

  3. Amanda! so many goodies! you have me sitting here clicking add on Goodreads LOL. I’ve had Behind Closed Doors on my TBR for a few months now, maybe it’s time to read it in October. The Silent Waters however, GOT ME! lol I need that book like today *runs to Amazon* enjoy all of the reads this month, you have a solid list 😉

    1. I know I am so pumped to read Behind Closed Doors! You should read it this month, it seems like the perfect October thriller :). As soon as I saw Silent Waters, I knew I had to read it! It sounds so different and romantic.

  4. I want to comment on what I like about October, but I don’t think I found the perspective place. I didn’t see a comment section right under the blog . I know I sound like a dummy. Anyway. I love the fall decor.

Leave a Reply

