The Mistake (Off-Campus, #2)

The Off-Campus series is off the hook 

25564665

Goodreads

He’s a player in more ways than one…

College junior John Logan can get any girl he wants. For this hockey star, life is a parade of parties and hook-ups, but behind his killer grins and easygoing charm, he hides growing despair about the dead-end road he’ll be forced to walk after graduation. A sexy encounter with freshman Grace Ivers is just the distraction he needs, but when a thoughtless mistake pushes her away, Logan plans to spend his final year proving to her that he’s worth a second chance.

Now he’s going to need to up his game…

After a less than stellar freshman year, Grace is back at Briar University, older, wiser, and so over the arrogant hockey player she nearly handed her V-card to. She’s not a charity case, and she’s not the quiet butterfly she was when they first hooked up. If Logan expects her to roll over and beg like all his other puck bunnies, he can think again. He wants her back? He’ll have to work for it. This time around, she’ll be the one in the driver’s seat…and she plans on driving him wild.

4/5 Stars!



Another great Off-Campus book! The Mistake is the second book in this delicious series about college hockey boys.

If I was only rating this book on Logan’s POV it would have been five stars, but I have to rate it including Grace and she just was lacking the personality I expected. I think I wanted another Hannah Wells from The Goal and I know I shouldn’t compare but I couldn’t help it.

“I’m writing a love poem,” I answer without thinking. Then I slam my lips together, realizing what I’ve done.

Dead silence crashes over the kitchen.”

John Logan was adorable though! He started out a little lost, I think he was just unsure of everything that was about to happen in his life once his senior year at Briar University was over with. His home life wasn’t so great growing up and even though it was sad when he would open up, I’m glad those parts were written because it really shows you why he is the way he is sometimes.

On the outside Logan comes off as this cocky, big man on campus, player type like the rest of the guys. But on the inside he’s sweet and insecure and he just wants something meaningful in his life. Someone that won’t let him down.

Cue Grace Ivers, a freshman at Briar University and she is about as opposite to Logan as dark is to light. She’s shy, she’s awkward, she’s innocent and she’s a virgin. Grace and Logan meet very unexpectedly and they hit it off right away, until Logan pretty much screws up the whole entire thing.

“First and foremost—be confident. Second—be spontaneous. Third—the only opinion that matters is your own.”

They go their separate ways for the Summer. Grace is visiting her mom and Logan is going home to help his brother and his dad run the garage their family owns. When Grace comes back for her Sophomore year, she is completely different. Her hair has changed and all of a sudden she has all this confidence radiating off of her. Logan on the other hand, is sulking even more. Instead of thinking about making it to the NHL all he can think about is his life at home and what it’s going to mean once he graduates.

Another reason I didn’t particularly love Grace was the games she would play. Logan obviously wanted to make things right and he was willing to do just about anything to get one date with her. I hate girls who play games when they have a great guy standing right there asking for you. She makes a list of the most ridiculous things for him to do to win her back. I know it was supposed to be cute and funny, but it was kind of annoying.

“What are you doing?” I whisper. “Well, you were looking at me like you wanted me to kiss you.” His blue eyes become heavy-lidded. “So I was thinking I might do that.”

Still though, set all of that aside and Logan and Grace were still pretty cute together. I also adored hearing about Garrett and Hannah of course, they are still as precious as ever! And Dean still makes you laugh just as hard in this book too! I love all of these characters that the author has created.

My top favorite things about this book though are;

  • John Logan obviously. He was so sweet even though I knew he would be.
  • The family issues. I love the deep issues they deal with that gives the book more depth.
  • The emotion. The author did a great job at showing Logan’s emotions. You could literally feel them as you were reading.
  • The romance. I did love the romance in this book, you could feel it between Logan and Grace. It wasn’t as intense as it was in The Deal but it was still there.
  • Hockey. Hockey, hockey, hockey! I love it 🙂

Elle Kennedy just keeps rocking it out with this series and I can’t get enough! Seriously, their like crack. Next up is The Score and you know what that means…..DEAN!! I can’t even wait for Dean’s book, I’m so excited 🙂 I just know I’m going to love that jerk lol.

Start this series NOW, if you haven’t already. I pinky promise you won’t regret it.

16 thoughts on “The Mistake (Off-Campus, #2)

  1. Logan is my favorite so far of all the guys. He’s such a damn sweetheart and I couldn’t help but fall for him, lol. But you are GOING TO HAVE SO MUCH FUN with The Score. Dean is such a riot and I couldn’t stop laughing.

  2. I’m so glad you loved this book! Logan is a total babe. I love him! I couldn’t stand Grace. She also ruined parts of the book for me with her bland personality and whining. I do like how she made him work for it, and I loved all the embarrassing challenges she made him do. He was so adorable I was in love. 🙂 Hockey dudes are such hotties. I can’t wait for you to become obsessed with Dean. We’ll start a support group. LOL 🙂

    1. I thought he was ADORABLE doing all of the challenges! Especially the red velvet chaise lounge lol. She got on my nerves though!! I loved Logan, he was so adorable and even romantic! Who knew those hockey boys could be romantic ;).

      I can’t wait for Dean, he was cracking me up even in this book with all of his crazy remarks. He’s hilarious. I’m ready to laugh again! The Mistake was a bit more serious, but I know Dean’s will have me laughing hard 🙂

      1. YES! The chaise was hilarious. I could’ve done without most of Grace’s chapters. Like I really cared what she was up to in Paris or wherever she went for the summer with her mom. Snooze. Logan really ended up being adorable after his whole crush on Han-Han! 🙂 Dean is seriously the best one. He’s so funny. And all I gotta say the dumpster scene- holy hell! It’s short but super intense. Wait until you read that one! There’s also scenes with “Winston” that are so funny in Dean’s book. You will die! I couldn’t stop laughing. You’ll be in tears. 🙂

      2. Oh I know, I couldn’t believe his crush on Han-Han! Well how like intense it was, but I’m glad she set him straight. lol I can’t wait! I think I’m going to start it tonight, if not I’ll defiantly be reading it all weekend 🙂

  3. I really need to start reading this! I will soon get a little week off from reviewing new books to prepare posts to schedule because uni is starting and I need to have a little leeway, so I might pick those books to read and not review. It sounds like a light but good choice 😀 great review!

    1. Do it!! This series is awesome, I’m starting the third book tonight. I have a feeling it will be the funniest one out of all of them 🙂 these hockey guys are ridiculously cute and hilarious!

  4. I love this post!👍

    And I totally love the Off-Campus series.❤

    I agree with you on Grace, I didn’t like that she played games with Logan. Putting myself on her shoes I know she was really scarred on the rejection thingy that Logan did BUT I am loyal with my boys, lol.😁 So, my sympathy is on Logan.. But I still love them.❤

    I’m excited for you to read Dean’s story… 😍

    1. Oh I know, I’m totally loyal to the boys! lol. I start Deans story and I love him already!! He’s so silly, I’m only a little bit in but I know I’ll love him and Allie. I like them apart, so I can only imagine how much I’ll love them together! ☺️💕💕

Leave a Reply

