Collared

Captivating romantic mystery

29075691-2

Goodreads

When a seventeen-year-old girl vanishes,
A community is shaken.
Parents turn desperate.
Friends hold vigils.
And the boy who loves her searches.

When a year goes by,
The community is recovering.
Parents feel hopeless.
Friends feel helpless.
And the boy who loves her continues his search.

When ten years go by,
The community has forgotten.
Parents cling to the past.
Friends move toward the future.
And the boy who loves her . . .
Brings her home.

When the twenty-seven-year-old woman is found,
A community wants to know the story,
Parents want to forget the story,
Friends want to be a part of the story,
And the man who still loves her faces the greatest challenge yet: letting her go.

4.5/5 Stars!



“I’ll never finish falling in love with you.”

I have been wanting to read this book for so long and I am so happy because it defiantly did not disappoint me! I would say though, if you are going to read this book I think you should go in blind. I didn’t, obviously but I wish I would have!

Jade Childs was kidnapped when she was just seventeen. What is even worse though, is the night she was kidnapped happened to be one of the best nights of her life. She was in love with Torrin Costigan, he’s her boy next door. They might only be seventeen but when I read the opening of this book, my heart ached because the way they felt about each other was the cutest thing in the world. I love young love, it’s refreshing and adorable and it makes you grin from ear to ear.

Jade’s dad is a cop, so of course he’s super strict. She has a curfew and after spending an amazing evening with Torrin, it was time for her to go home. Torrin walks her home, because he’s perfect and waits for her to go inside. Jade hears a noise coming from the bushes though before she fully gets inside the door, and Torrin is already walking back towards his house.

A car pulls up to Jade’s house and a man rolls down the window claiming he’s lost, only he’s anything but lost. He knows exactly where he is and he ends up taking Jade. I don’t want to go into detail about the kidnapping because you should read all about that for yourself, it’s what makes this book so interesting.

“He might have taken ten years. But he couldn’t have another minute of my life.”

What I could never figure out though, is how they never found her for ten years! Mainly because I had no clue who kidnapped her, I had no clue where she was exactly, and really I thought her dad being a cop would get the investigation rolling on a bigger level. When I found out all of those things though, it was kind of a big shock and it makes you think about the people around you. The people you don’t know, but have seen many times.

Now that she is twenty-seven, the only thing Jade wants to do is get her life back to normal as soon as possible. I think she learned pretty fast though that instead of wanting everything to be like before, she really needed to start making a new life for herself. I could never imagine being in the situation she was, being gone for 10 years, pretty much spending every minute trying to bury your old self because it hurts too much to think about the memories of the life you had. It’s unimaginable.

“Try again. Fail again. Fail better.”

The mystery and the healing in this book were great even though I was hoping there would be a bit more mystery than what was given. But the best part of this story was simple, Torrin Costigan and the love he had for Jade. He never stopped looking for her, he pretty much gave up his life for Jade because why try to find someone else when it will never be who you want it to be? Torrin might actually have been the one who saved Jade, but he saved her on so many more levels. He brought her back to life, she brought him back to life. Their story was incredible and I just wanted more!

“Are you sure?”
His strong hand grips the side of my neck, and he aligns his eyes with mine. “I’ve been sure about you since I was fifteen years old. And I’ll be sure about you for the rest of my life.”

Everyone who has commented on this book looking so good, well I’m here to tell you that it is and you need to read it for yourself! 🙂 The writing is great, the plot is awesome, there’s mystery, romance, struggle, healing, so many great things wrapped up into one amazing book! Oh, and isn’t the cover beautiful!? One last thing, wait until you find out the meaning of the title. It will blow you away, on more than one occassion!

So now, go read it!

15 thoughts on “Collared

  1. This sounds amazing! It’s been on my list forever. I really want to read it now. Young love is always so cute and sad when you read about it. And I can’t believe they don’t find her kidnapper. So weird. Great review!

    1. Oh they find him! Lol it’s just weird that they had no clue who it was, well and that it took ten years. It was really good!! I hope you get a chance to read it ☺️☺️ thanks love!

Leave a Reply

