He Will Be My Ruin

Gripping, captivating, page turner

6eba245ccc65954cf3076d416505411c

Goodreads

Maggie Sparkes finds herself in New York City, packing up her best friend’s apartment after she committed suicide. The story seems to be that Celine went to bed and downed a heavy amount of Xanax and Maker’s Mark and she never woke up. Maggie is staying in Celine’s apartment until she has everything organized and out of there. That’s when she finds the hidden lockbox that Maggie gave Celine as a gift. Inside the secret compartment are very questionable items. 

Maggie needs to find the answers to all the questions going on in her head, beginning with the man Celine must have been in love with. A man no one knew about, not even Maggie. A man that Celine said would be her ruin. A dangerous man, that opens up an investigation that takes you on a wild ride. 

4.5/5 Stars!



“This man was once my salvation. Now he will be my ruin.”

First of all, the prologue to this book will grab your attention like no other. It’s perfect and had me putting my game face on, ready for anything!

Maggie Sparkes is a twenty-eight year old humanitarian, a very wealthy one. The story starts out with Maggie arriving at her best friend Celine’s apartment to stay and pack it up after her suicide.

You learn a little bit more about Celine as soon as Maggie steps into the apartment, because of all the antiques neatly organized on shelves all around the decent one bedroom apartment in New York. Celine has been growing a very large antique collection and it’s when Maggie finds an old lockbox that she gave Celine years ago as a present that she starts questioning what really happened the night of Celine’s suicide.

Maggie starts digging into her friends past and starts discovering more and more shocking things. A picture of a man who Celine claims will be her ruin one day is the one that jump starts her own inner investigation though.

“Money is a tantalizing whore, isn’t she?”

This story took me on a crazy ride! I had to channel my own inner detective skills to try to get one step ahead of everyone, but I couldn’t! This book has so many interesting characters. There’s Maggie of course, who really was the only semi normal one. There’s the sweet nosy neighbor Ruby. There’s the sassy, antique obsessed Han’s who was Celine’s friend. There’s detective Childs and the short grumpy PI Doug. And there’s the relaxed and sweet Superintendent Grady. So many characters but they all play such a good important roll in this book.

I was on my toes reading this because I just couldn’t make the connections, and when I thought I had it all figured out K.A totally just threw the bone the opposite way and blew my mind again. You will be on your toes reading this, it has great suspense and an even greater mystery with lots of twists and turns.

“I’ve been trapped in here for so long.

Hours.

Days.

I have no idea.

Long enough to run through every mistake that I made.”

This book is mainly told in Maggie’s POV but it does give you passages from Celine, so you understand her a little more and you get the real story of what she was actually doing. I thought that was great because only Celine had the answers for us and it was so nice getting those little bits and pieces here and there to keep your interest fired up and ready for more.

I don’t want to go into too much detail about the overall plot because I don’t want to give anything away. You really need to read it for yourself, so you can be captivated by the story like I was. I highly recommend this book and even more now because Fall is coming! This would be a great read to curl up with on a breezy Autumn night.

He Will Be My Ruin is available for ebook purchase on Amazon but the paperback version won’t be available until Feburary 17th, 2017. Thank goodness for ebooks sometimes!!  I will defiantly be checking out more books by this Author. The Ten Tiny Breathes series from her sounds really good! ๐Ÿ™‚

Purchase He Will Be My Ruin here!

18 thoughts on “He Will Be My Ruin

  1. This book sounds amazing! I have heard other good things about it but but after reading your review I am convinced to give it a go!
    It was a great review ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually recognize what you are speaking about!
    Bookmarked. Please additionally discuss with my website =).
    We may have a link trade arrangement among us

Leave a Reply

