Kaleidoscope Hearts

Adorable second chance romance

23545800

Goodreads

He was my older brother’s best friend.
He was never supposed to be mine.
I thought we would get it out of our system and move on.

One of us did.
One of us left.

Now he’s back, looking at me like he wants to devour me. And all those feelings I’d turned into anger are brewing into something else, something that terrifies me.
He broke my heart last time.
This time he’ll obliterate it.

4/5 Stars!



“I always thought you were mine.”

This story is adorable! Estelle is a beautiful artist who just lost her fiancé to a terrible accident the year before. The  book opens up with her having to pack up their apartment they shared so she can sell it and try to move on with her life. She’s moving in with her protective divorce lawyer brother, Victor until the apartment sells and she can find a new place of her own. The first night she stays, she opens the door expecting a delivery boy of some sort to be standing there with the food Victor said he ordered. The man standing in front of her is anything but that, It’s Oliver Hart her brothers best friend. She shatters pieces of glass only to put them back together to heal the heart that he broke so long ago to form beautiful Kaleidoscope Hearts. Now he’s back in her life, demanding just “one date” like nothing has happened.

“You look beautiful. I’m so happy I finally agreed to go on this date with you.” That makes me laugh. “Really? Were you being hounded relentlessly?” “Like you wouldn’t believe,” he says, raising his eyebrows. “It’s been exhausting having to dodge your advances.”

I LOVE these characters! Estelle is such a gentle soul with a great attitude. I connected so well with her because she honestly reminds me of myself. I grew up with brothers and crushed on their friends like crazy. She needs lots of sleep like I do or she is cranky as hell, but honestly lets face it we are cranky either way. Estelle has this beautiful need to create beauty and to help kids, which is a big part of why I liked her and Oliver. They were helping kids throughout this whole story and it really was touching.

“And how do you know she’s the one?” I whisper, wiping the tears spilling down my face. He brings a hand up to my cheek and caresses over it with his thumb. “I know because, when she’s not with me, I feel like I lack oxygen, and even when I am with her, I feel like I can’t breathe enough.”

Oliver Hart is a wonderful character. He’s finishing up his last bit of residency to become a Pediatric Doctor. He comes off as this cocky, playboy type, with shaggy curly hair and green eyes that could melt you in a heartbeat but deep down he is so sweet and kind. He’s been in love with Estelle this whole entire time but the fact that Victor would cut off his balls if he found out and the fact that he had a very demanding career that took up most of his hours just kept him from showing his true feelings. But hell, I could feel the love he had for Elle just by reading his words!

I also loved the side characters in this book, Victor and all of his other friends besides Oliver were so great! Mia, Estelle’s best friend was adorable and she can totally be my best friend if she wants to. Victor and Elle’s parents were also really cute too, the characters concept in this novel was on point.

“He’s freaking hot, but I can’t go out with him! This isn’t the fifteen hundreds. You can’t just go around trying to court me to people!”

The only thing I didn’t care for in this book that took the ratings down was the HUGE cat and mouse game Oliver and Estelle were playing. I get the games they played when they were teenagers, I mean we all do that. But this final round after Wyatt died and they had a second chance together being 25 and 28 years old, they needed to cut the crap and just go for it instead of making it more complicated.

Other than that, I thought this was a beautifully written second chance romance story with really cute humor. It’s told in Estelle’s POV most of the time but Oliver tells you about their past together which I thought was great. It gives you all the feels like it’s supposed to and even inspires you to give back or to create something beautiful. This is the first book in this series and I can’t wait to read the others! Pick this up if you need a cute series to read :).

14 thoughts on “Kaleidoscope Hearts

    1. I know, right? I think the problem is that women write the male characters they want to date. If men wrote romances, it would probably be all erotica and maybe something like oh hey baby, here’s some flowers and you think we can have a quickie before we go into the movie theater or something really unromantic. Men… Real life men are the absolute worst. 😂 I always hope for book dudes and they don’t exist. Damn Prince Charming ruined it for me since childhood. Haha! 😂

      1. Oh for sure! We defiantly write the shit out of male characters lol. It’s so far from what actually happens, it’s sad 😂 oh well, at least we have our books like this!

Leave a Reply

