Book Blogger Blind Date

Happy Monday!!

book-blogger-blind-date

Today is the day of my Book Blogger Blind Date! Thank you to the lovely Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books for coming up with this awesome idea!

Would you like to meet my date?

Say hello to Aoife over @ Pretty Purple Polka Dots!

image-aa9e0364e98a18dc39fb13d9a196ecea4412967291b1d992bacbe66e814649cf-V-2

Hello! My name is Aoife (pronounced E-8lfah) and I’m a 24 year old book blogger from Ireland. I mainly cover book reviews, both my own books I bought myself (of which there are hundreds) and some ARC copies too.

If I’m not talking books, I’m usually found taking a tag post, or talking crap on Twitter, Instagram or Snapchat.



Aoife and I decided to do everything in three’s for this blind date. We asked each other three book related questions and gave three of our favorite answers.

Here were the answers to Aofie’s favorites!

Top three Irish YA authors you NEED to read

Louise O Neill

She may be relatively new to the YA scene (her first book was published in 2014), but when you cover a range of topics like body image and consent, you’re going to be relevant right away. What I love most about Louise is how down to earth she is (her snapchat, oneilllouise, is HILARIOUS) but she’s not afraid to hit some big issues today. Get yourself a copy of Only Ever Yours and Asking For It before her third book comes out.

Claire Hennessy

Claire’s first book was published in the early 00s when she was just a teenager herself, so she definitely knew the audience she was writing for right from the word go. She took a break from writing for five years in 2009, and this year released her 11th book Nothing Tastes As Good. Like Louise above, it covers some dark and heavy topics, but it’s a great book.

Sarah Crossan

If you’re going to check out one Irish YA author, make it Sarah. She recently won two book awards, one in Ireland and one in the UK, for her most recent novel One. It’s written in poetry form and tells the story of conjoined twins on their first time in a conventional school system. It’s a must read this year.

Top three book to film adaptations

The Book Thief

This is my favourite book of all time, so it was really important for me that the film version did it justice. I was so concerned for how it would be done, I actually avoided it completely for almost a year. When I did finally watch it one evening, I spent the rest of the night in tears. It was perfect.

The Fault in Our Stars

Anyone who wasn’t left in floods of tears following this film needs to get checked out. It’s such a tear jerker, and for a romance cynic it’s one of my favourite love stories, because it shows that you can find love no matter what odds are stacked against you. I also cannot think of anyone who could better portray Hazel than Shailene Woodley.

The Princess Diaries

From the good, to maybe one that could have done a bit of tweaking. The main elements were still there, and the fact Julie Andrews plays Grandmere is one of my favourite things about this film – Julie has always been my queen. But who didn’t want to see the cynical, prickly Grandmere we meet in the books, or see what Tina Hakim Baba’s wardrobe would have really looked like (most of Mia’s friends, like Tina, Shameeka, Perin and Ling Su didn’t make the film. Bummer.) Also, it would have been way better if the storyline with her dad was kept as it was in the film.

My top three favorite series:

Harry Potter

Seeing as the Cursed Child was released at the weekend I think it’s wildly appropriate to start off in Hogwarts. There are so many children who grew up intoxicated by JK Rowling’s series, and I was among them. I’m a die hard Ravenclaw, and I still remember waking up in tears on my 11th birthday because there was no sign of my Hogwarts letter.

The Princess Diaries

When I was younger, all I wanted was to be Mia Thermopolis, and be the heir to a throne in central Europe. Apart from the royal blood and the step family, Mia and I were actually pretty similar – really REALLY bad at maths (and both having a parnet teach us the subject providing no actual help), really REALLY good at English, outsiders, clumsy, and both proud owners of a really fat cat. I’m still waiting for my Michael to appear though.

Georgia Nicholson

The author of this 10 part series, Louise Rennison, passed away in February of this year, and I felt a bit of my childhood disappear. These books are really popular in the UK, but I don’t think they crossed the pond. It’s such a pity because they’re hilarious. Georgia Nicholson is your perfect teen narrator, and the antics of her and her friends will leave you in stitches



This was so much fun to participate in and I’m really glad I got to know Aoife better! Even though it’s tough keeping up with emailing each other since everyone has their own busy lives going on, I’m really glad we stuck to it and set up a date!!

Thanks so much Aoife for doing this with me, and thanks Jill for coming up with this great idea! Stay tuned for Aoife’s post about me tomorrow to finish up this Blind Date of ours!

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Book Blogger Blind Date

  1. I’m so glad you guys did this. Thanks for the recs! I also loved the adaptation for The Fault In Our Stars, and even though I never read The Princess Diaries I do love the movie. I can’t wait to read your portion of the date. 🙂

    1. It was a lot of fun!! You will probably know all my answers lol but it will be new to all the other bloggers out there who don’t follow so it’s great to meet new ones! 🙂

Leave a Reply

