One True Loves

heartbreakingly sweet, could you imagine losing your whole entire world?

27189194

Goodreads

4/5 stars!

Emma Blair is in her twenties and living the life she has always dreamed of. She is married to her high school sweetheart Jesse, she is traveling the world writing. She is seeing and doing everything she wants. Until one day she wakes up and it’s Jesse & her’s first wedding anniversary and she gets the news that his helicopter has gone missing. Emma moves back to her family and tries to pick up the pieces of her shattered heart. When years later she finally has a chance at love again with Sam, her now new fiance. Until Jesse is found and alive and wants to be back with the one person he has always loved, Emma.



First of all could you even imagine? Thinking you lost the absolute love of your life, only to find out that all these years he was alive doing everything he could to come back home to you? That alone is the one thing that breaks my heart about this book.

“There is nothing more romantic than this. Holding the very person that you thought you lost, and knowing you’ll never lose them again.”

The author tells this story in different parts, which I thought worked the best since there was so much to explain. You jump into it with this short greeting that sets off the whole book. You then jump into Emma and Jesse’s story which I loved, there is nothing sweeter than high school sweethearts. You learn about Emma & Sam next and then Jesse is back and you learn about the things they all go through together.

I couldn’t help but feel sorry for Emma throughout this whole book. She has an unbeleivable desicion to make, how the hell do you decide between your husband and your fiancé? You just don’t, it’s impossible. This book is mostly about Emma trying to find her true self, who she wants to be, who she is. The story is told by Emma and I liked her as a main character but the way she handled things sometimes made me a little upset. I liked her but I just didn’t love her.

“True love doesn’t always last, it doesn’t always have to be for a lifetime.”

Jesse and Sam are complete opposites, and it was defiantly a love triangle and when it comes to those I always end up liking one more than the other. To me I had a loyalty to Jesse, and I’m not completely sure why. I liked him even before he went missing.

Sam is very safe and sweet and will let himself be a shadow if he has to. He didn’t have a lot of confidence and I thought he should have beleived in himself a little more even though I know it was an impossible situation. Jesse was total opposite, he was fierce and confident and knew what he wanted, always. He was adventurous and fun and I just enjoyed reading about him more.

“I don’t want your pity and I don’t want your loyalty. I want you to be with me because you want to be with me.”

With this book you will go through all the feels. Loss, love, sadness, happiness. You learn to realize what’s important in life and to always hold your loved ones a little closer, because they really could be gone in a second.

I liked this book a lot, I just didn’t love it like I thought I would, but it’s enjoyable and I recommend it. It’s a great book to cuddle up with, throw your favorite pajamas on and your favorite pair of fuzzy socks, get your tea ready and dig in. It’s a nice book to read when you just want to relax and enjoy a story.

……Which one will Emma choose? 😉

9 thoughts on “One True Loves

    1. There are really good quotes in this book! I never really realized it until I started marking all of them and re reading! I hope you like it if you get a chance to read it 😃

Leave a Reply

