My Girl

Suspense, twisted, dark, this book will blow your mind.

30109213

*I received this novel free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

4/5 stars!



Paige wakes up everyday ready to pop more pills and drink her day away once again. She doesn’t know how to live life or cope anymore after the brutal murder of her 14 year old daughter Chloe and the body and closure they never found.

If that wasn’t enough, her husband just couldn’t take it anymore and had to go and commit suicide on her.

Paige is sucked into a life of loss and losing herself to things she could never imagine letting happen to her.

Strange things start slowly disappearing throughout her house and she and the other’s around her can’t tell if she is doing them herself during her drinking binge’s or if something more serious is actually starting to form.



I had no idea what to expect going into this novel, I had a whole different idea of what was going to happen in my head than what actually happened in this book.

“Her memory was awful after she’d been drinking, like a broken film reel. Whole segments of time were missing, fuzzy, unsalvageable. In fact, her recollection of most her life seemed to be full of taunting gaps, so that she only had a handful of memories to look back on.”

I loved how the story was written, the author did an amazing job. Everything flowed so well throughout the whole book, even towards the end. The ending of the book is crucial, I don’t mind cliff hangers if it’s a series or you are coming out with another book but when you aren’t and you leave a cliff hanger to a mystery then I’m pissed. But the ending to this book was really good and I felt justified in reading it and happy that the little details ended perfectly. 

Holy cow though, I have never read a book with a bigger plot twist in my life! I never saw it coming, I was totally blind sided and I had to put the book down for a few minutes to register what I was reading. This will take you on a full hanging up side down, turning every way possible ride!

There are a lot of disturbing parts in this story that even made me scrunch up my nose a bit, so if you don’t like violence, abuse, or can’t handle a lot of detailed sentences about them than this book really isn’t for you. It’s dark and twisted and all I kept referencing in my head while reading it was Meredith and Cristina from Grey’s Anatomy and how they would always be called ‘Dark and twisty sister’s’

“He was the monster from under my bed, the villain in my dreams, and the man who took everything from me.”

Overall this was a good read, very interesting and different than any other Physiological Thriller novel I have read. It’s a shorter novel so it only took me a couple hours to read it today. Once I started though I couldn’t put it down. It was addicting. Every page I turned I was like “Did that seriously just happen?” “Am I really reading what I thought I just read?” Seriously it’s like crack.

I would defiantly recommend it to anyone who likes these kinds of novels! If you don’t though, I would refrain from reading it.

12 thoughts on “My Girl

    1. It was really hard!! I was hoping I didn’t give away any spoilers. I left like the whole other half out when explaining it, I think that’s the only way. I can’t wait to see what you thought 😃

    1. hii!! Thanks so much! 🙂 I signed up for your newsletter through your blog 🙂 This book was really good, super intense and a little dark and twisted but if it’s right up your alley then you will love it! It’s written really well.

Leave a Reply

