Be kind

Caution: Extreme Ranting

5f3296aaeb6657530238587761031bc8

What happened to waiting for someone when they are behind you and opening doors for them? What happened to saying THANK YOU?

What happened to helping someone when you see them struggling? What happened to being a DECENT human being?

I am a very positive person and sometimes I let my positivity cloud my judgment, so I get these huge wake up calls when something so simple, something I thought that everyone just naturally does like holding a door open or saying thank you never even crosses theirΒ mind.

I can’t help but think how we got to this? How all of the nice natural things that we learn from our parents, or just learn because we see other people do it and it is just supposed to be something you do, doesn’t happen anymore.

I get so sad when I think of how some people go through life on a daily basis without kindness, I know I would never want to not receive kindness and I would never not giveΒ anyone kindness. It’s just a natural thing to me, as it should be to everyone else.

Even if it is just a small smile to a stranger, just a tiny smile, to let them know you see them and they are not alone. Even that could change someone’s whole entire day, just that small gesture to you could mean everything to someone else.

We are all equals, we are all flawed, we all have something to lose and something to gain, we all make choices every single day, we all have something deeper going on.

No one is better than anyone else, we should all be doing these things that should be naturally embedded into our heads, into our thoughts as we go through our everyday life.

Whew, I feel better.

Thanks for listening! Love you all πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Be kind

      1. Ikr
        I feel like I’m so different
        Especially at school but I don’t really care because I don’t want to stump down to that person or follow others
        But everyone is all about sex and drugs and parties and I’m over here reading my book with no worries XD

    1. This is just a ‘theory’ now and meant in no offence or anything, but might it be that the feminist movement has had an impact? Women are now: “I do it myself, I don’t need a man to buy me coffee or pay for my dinner because I am a strong independent woman and equal, dammit” … which in part I agree with and sure, that doesn’t excuse not being a polite, considerate gentleman but I’ve come across quite a few events/scenes/occasions when the man tried to be a gentleman and got told off because of said woman being ‘strong and independent’ … so it is rather discouraging for the guys and they simply stop trying cause what’s the point?!

      To comment on the post… I grew up in Estonia where being polite (like in most countries I believe) is really really important. You respect the elderly, don’t interrupt when people are talking but keep your flap shut until spoken to, respect your teachers (at least back in the day) and don’t chew gum into someone’s face, greet the bus driver and thank the bus driver when getting out… ‘Please’ and ‘thank you’ are drilled into kids… But it’s rather like a steady ‘underlying’ politeness, whereas in Ireland where I have lived for about 10 years, jaysus… the politeness is real! I think some days I say ‘sorry, please and thanks a mill’ more than I can count… And there are so many different tones of voice you can say ‘sorry’ so it would fit each different situation… It’s fascinating really πŸ™‚

      1. You are totally right! I really didn’t mean it in talking about men vs. women really. That’s long gone, you either work your ways in the new era or the old one. I meant just kindness in general. I work in retail sometimes and it’s just horrible what I see. People talking on their phones when they are being rung up and totally ignoring the cashier, just walking right past people if they drop something or need help with stuff, I’ve gotten more silent treatment than thank you’s when it’s time for them to pay for stuff. It just really irritated me yesterday 😑 lol but you are totally right!

      2. Ah yes.. retail… I can totally see your point… πŸ™‚
        The common courtesy seems to be dead indeed and a lot of it has to do with the techy connectivity of modern days…
        I hope there are more nicer days in the retail business and sometimes one really good customer can wipe out the memories of a dozen bad ones… It is truly difficult though because one ‘bad’ and misbehaving client can really break a day… pity really..
        I wish you luck and kinder customers πŸ™‚ Even though it’s difficult at times, I wish you steely nerves to keep smiling even at the grumps and the ignorant πŸ™‚

      3. This is true tho but I honestly don’t like being told to shut up even if it’s by someone older than me because I have something to say, I’ll say it. The thing about guys being gentleman and we rejecting it is just stupid, and makes the guys feel like they made a mistake.
        And that’s just not good because they’ll end up treating girls like crap

  1. This is true! I honestly make an effort to do these things. I hold doors, offer to help, even paid for coffee for the person behind me a couple times, but honestly no one observes it anymore. It drives me crazy.

      1. I know! Sometimes I catch myself acting really horrible and I think, “Man I shouldn’t have done that.” Then I feel horrible and mope for a day.

  2. I know exactly what you mean. When I was waking with crutches, nobody would get up for me on the bus to school. I just had to stand there in the middle and hope I didn’t fall over. Every damn day for almost 2 years. People are SO selfish. This one’s for you: πŸ™‚. And I’m going to give you a virtual hug as well! πŸ€—

  3. Loved this post and the crazy thing is, when you do something nice some people are just so in shock now a days that you’re doing something nice. Like if politeness and kindness doesn’t exist anymore. And that’s so sad. It breaks me heart when I get on the bus/train and the young people don’t get up and give their sit to the elderly or the lady who’s pregnant. Or when you hold the door for someone and they don’t say thanks or when someone bumps into you and they don’t say sorry but instead grill you like if it’s your fault. Just so many little things that can make this world a little kinder and positive.

      1. Heck yes! That’s so true, I have been there a couple times and I am always blown away by how many people there are out and about all day and night lol

Leave a Reply

