Review: Gus

fa2f46a080c676b78442722e4bcfd27f

5 amazing stars

I am so happy writing this review, this book was full of grieving, healing, finding yourself, and just pure happiness. This book is the sequel to Bright Side so If you haven’t read Bright Side yet, there might be a few spoilers in here that slip and I don’t even realize it so sorry in advance! 🙂

I adore Gus Hawthorne, he is my book boyfriend. He is the most amazing and loyal friend, I would kill to have the ability to talk to anyone like he does. I mean he befriends EVERYBODY! It’s fascinating and an amazing trait to carry. It’s so easy to fall for him because he doesn’t try, he just naturally is charming, funny, nice, that’s the best part. Oh and he is the leader in a band! I really want to stand front row at a Rook concert with a ‘Gus makes me moist’ T-shirt and some girl scout cookies 😉 lol (go read the book!)

“Bright Side wasn’t only my best friend; she was like my other half…The other half of my conscience, the other half of my sense of humor, the other half of my creativity, the other half of my heart.”

Grieving was not a good look for Gus, but everybody is different when it comes to that process in their lives. He made a lot of mistakes and did a lot of things he shouldn’t have, but I’m  happy he found himself again and did epic way better than before. A lot of the time I felt like I was right there with him grieving, hearing about Kate was a little hard. But I’m so happy I got the closure I needed.

Scout was a surprise for me, she is Gus’ PA (babysitter) and she really just wants nothing to do with him. She has a lot of issues she’s dealing with, but she was really likable, she had her own way of showing her feelings. After Rook’s tour was over she got a job with Gus’ mom Audrey, who by the way is probably the most amazing person EVER! Audrey is so sweet and loving and everytime she talks I just can’t help but smile. I loved watching Gus and Scout’s relationship bloom. It was slow and beautiful, which is really nice.

“I think people find each other when they’re ready for them. When they need each other the most. And it’s in that time of need when the strongest relationships are formed.”

My favorite part about this book was how all the characters from Bright Side popped up. I loved every single one of them, especially Keller and Stella. Part of me needed closure to make sure all my friends (that’s how they make you feel) are doing okay, that they are making it. It was the best surprise when you would find out one by one how everyone is doing!

“There’s something epic that happens every day if you look hard enough for it.”

Bright Side and Gus are two of the most amazing stories I have ever read, they are so special to me now and so full of friendship, happiness and love. I would recommend them to anyone in a heartbeat, and I am so happy I got to read them. If you haven’t read these yet, you need to! DO EPIC!

One thought on “Review: Gus

Leave a Reply

