Moving in while dating

IMG_4884

I know some still think you should wait until you’re married to move in together and to get really serious…but times have changed a lot and more and more people are moving in with each other while they are still dating. My boyfriend and myself just became first time homeowners together about a year ago and it’s been…..WONDERFUL!

In a way I believe that you don’t truly know someone until you live with them, learn their everyday lifestyle habits. I mean honestly find out if you even like all their quirks while they are in their own home. People can surprise you from when you see them during the day or spend the occasional night with them, to actually being with them everyday and every night. It can be a real eye opener and you could be really happy with your decision or you could decide, eh I don’t even think I really enjoy this person that much.

In my case it’s been wonderful and I’m really happy we decided to take the big step. I already knew he was the total typical guy with his sports games and video games so I already dealt with that on a daily basis. Yes, I do most of the cleaning everyday but let’s be honest most of us women do and I enjoy it most of the time. Don’t get me wrong, I do love an occasional had a long day and I come home to everything being already done day though. Surprisingly I’m not the cook in the relationship and it’s AWESOME 🙂 I mean I do cook, but only the boring meals and all of the baking. He cooks all the yummy stuff.

I think it has made our relationship a lot stronger and it’s been a lot of fun. We’ve grown up a lot and we have done it together which is the best part. Now whenever we decide we want to get married, it will be really nice knowing we already have a place to come home to instead of having that stress of having to actually find a house which is probably the most stressful thing ever (but that’s a different story.)

It has a lot of positives but it has negatives too just like everything else. Bills is probably the most stressful part, figuring out who pays what and how you are going to do everything and manage your money. You just have to help each other out as much as you can. Living with someone can be hard especially if you are only dating, you can get annoyed more easily or just want your space. It’s a great step into your future with them though, it really shows you how strong your relationship is.

It’s not for everyone, it’s all about compromise and it’s tough but it was probably one of the best decisions I have made so far and it’s been so much fun. So if you and your partner have been thinking about it or contemplating it a lot, go ahead and go for it, give it a shot. I think it would be beneficial and it will be a jumpstart to your future together. Moving in together while dating isn’t so bad, it’s an adventure.

Leave a Reply

